Real Strawberry Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I made this recipe the first time when it was a Personal Recipe (06-18-11). I've made it a couple of times since. Oh my gosh - you don't need a cupcake for this frosting you just need a spoon! This frosting has incredible strawberry taste. I made 66 mini white cupcakes and I had enough frosting to frost them all. Thank you Candice for creating this recipe. If you like strawberries you will love this frosting. It is MOST definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Really good, but really sweet. I had to add about one more cup of confectioners sugar to get it to cupcake frosting consistency. 20 minutes is too long to cook the strawberries for. I only needed about 10. Overall, way better tasting and looking than all the other strawberry frostings I've tried. Update: I'm changing my 4 stars to 5. The frosting tasted so much better the next day. My friends said the fresh strawberry flavor was very prevalent, like fresh strawberry ice cream in frosting form. Will be my go to strawberry frosting from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Absolutely the best strawberry frosting I've ever tasted. I don't know how much sugar I used, I just add it til it looks and tastes right for me. I did add a little salt because I use unsalted butter. Thanks for sharing, Candice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I really wanted that strawberry flavor to shine--what I did was add one teaspoon of strawberry extract and add an additional teaspoon of confectioners' sugar to make up for the additional liquid. I also added a dash of salt because Grandma taught me to always do so when making homemade frosting. This was FANTASTIC. It turned out like bakery frosting and the family kept eating the frosting off the cake.........and leaving the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Easy, and tastes AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamieinwyoming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Burns, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
It is a really easy and good frosting recipe. Without a electric mixer, I hand-whipped butter at room temperature with a fork and a whisk. The thing is, add confectioners' sugar in small portions while whipping the butter. Mix in strawberry puree at the end because the puree may harden the frosting if it was stored in the refrigerator. Didn't even bother to simmer down the strawberry puree and the consistency turned out pretty good. In addition, if you don't like the texture of strawberry seeds, use cheesecloth to get smooth texture of your puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
There is nothing to change in this recipe. Candice, you have created the best. Thank you for sharing your masterpiece with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Excellent! Wanted to try this for my mom for Mother's Day. Made exactly as listed except I added a little meringue powder. Frosted a 2-layer yellow cake...delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Super easy and yummy too!! Instead of strawberries, I used blueberries (which we on sale at the time, lol) and this frosting turned out beautifully!! I have never made my own frosting before and this was not only easy, but got rave reviews from the rest of the family! I will definitely make this again!! (Put on top of "Honey Cupcakes with strawberries" recipe by MICHELLE0011 substituting this frosting for the one in their recipe.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lunastar1311

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
My husband requested strawberry cake with strawberry frosting for his birthday, so I tried this. I used frozen strawberries with sugar as I needed 1/2 a container for the cake. I did strain the puree, as I always do when I make puree. Frosting was delicious, but the strawberry cake, frosting, and filling all together were a little sweet, even for our family of sweet toothes! But I think this with Strawberry Cake Filling would be awesome on a devils food cake. Will definitely do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Strawberry Soda Syrup

Beat back the heat with ice-cold homemade strawberry sodas and lemonade!

How to Make Strawberry Smoothies

Watch how to make a healthy yogurt and strawberry smoothie in your blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States