Real Strawberry Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I really wanted that strawberry flavor to shine--what I did was add one teaspoon of strawberry extract and add an additional teaspoon of confectioners' sugar to make up for the additional liquid. I also added a dash of salt because Grandma taught me to always do so when making homemade frosting. This was FANTASTIC. It turned out like bakery frosting and the family kept eating the frosting off the cake.........and leaving the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Fabulous recipe. I did use more strawberries (I like the flavor) and ended up not using 1/2 cup of the powdered sugar. Overall divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This was a perfect find for me today! Me and the little guy made some cupcakes that we stuffed w/ Golden Oreos (we were playing, lol), and I was looking for a different type of frosting besides the usual chocolate or vanilla...then I stumbled upon Marianne's pic in the photo pages (Thanks, Marianne!), and I decided that this was it. It also worked out b/c I had some strawberries that were a little past their prime, so what better to do w/ them than make this... LOVED the fresh flavor, and so simple to make too! Thanks, Candice, for a wonderfully delicious frosting~YUM! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Variations on a theme. At the suggestion of Redneck Grandma, I made MY OWN recipe using oranges instead of strawberries. It is beyond fabulous! TY RNG!!! I knew this recipe could easily be interchanged with other BERRIES, i.e., raspberries, blackberries and blueberries. RNG says she's made this versatile recipe using oranges and loved it. Well, RNG... we love it too. This batch was made for my wonderful neighbor who faithfully mows my yard(and is a Beaver fan). He was delighted and ordered more for the Civil War game yet to come. It did take twice as many oranges, cut up; about 2 cups and a little longer to cook down. But, it was so worth it. I also added orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This will be my go-to strawberry frosting for the future. It has a wonderful, fresh strawberry flavor. I've made strawberry frosting with jam or fresh berries in the past and it always weeps or runs. Reducing the strawberry puree is the key. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Made this frosting yesterday. The flavor was nice and the strawberry certainly came through well but the frosting was a little too sweet and the texture very grainy due to the seed remnants. A smoother creamier frosting would have been preferred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I had a lots of complements about this frosting. I did make the following changes. I added a little more strawberries (about 1 1/2cups instead of the 1 cup) and added 1/8tsp of almond extract, which brings out the strawberry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Sherlock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I made this recipe the first time when it was a Personal Recipe (06-18-11). I've made it a couple of times since. Oh my gosh - you don't need a cupcake for this frosting you just need a spoon! This frosting has incredible strawberry taste. I made 66 mini white cupcakes and I had enough frosting to frost them all. Thank you Candice for creating this recipe. If you like strawberries you will love this frosting. It is MOST definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Everyone gave this awesome reviews so I'm sure it's something I did wrong. It came out watery. For the butter I used country crock in the tub. Does anyone know why it would be so runny?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This frosting is delicious! It may take a little thought beforehand to prepare the strawberries, but it is SOOO worth that step. My chopped up strawberries slightly overflowed the measuring cup before I carefully reduced it as recommended by the author. Talk about a fresh yummy frosting! Thank you so much, Candice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Strawberry Soda Syrup

Beat back the heat with ice-cold homemade strawberry sodas and lemonade!

How to Make Strawberry Smoothies

Watch how to make a healthy yogurt and strawberry smoothie in your blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States