Real Strawberry Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I wanted to use up some old strawberries instead of throwing them out and had a white cake mix on hand. I only had margarine instead of butter, and I have no mixer of any kind, but adding more sugar and stirring my butt off made a wonderful frosting! I will try again using real butter, but love the strawberry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
AMAZING! Worth the effort for sure! I made it exactly as written (though I will reduce the time on boiling the strawberry puree .. I started with a full cup of puree, but ended with only 4 tablespoons of reduction!). The taste, however, was fabulous. I shared cupcakes with 12 different people, and every single one commented on the frosting being incredible! So very happy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Good strawberry flavor, reduced longer than recipe called for. I would love to try it with peaches or apricots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Very Very delicious, and yes super sweet, I recommend layering it in a cake with fresh sliced strawberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I tried to strain the seeds with cheesecloth but it didn't work. I added more strawberry puree to the recipe and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Loved the flavor of this. When I made it, I added the strawberries straight from the pan while they were still hot. This made it very liquidy. I put it in the refrigerator for an hour and it turned out fine. Next time, I think I will try a different fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Added more strawberries, and didn't need the last 1/2 cup of sugar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama chanel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I made the batch twice and for some reason it did not come out right. it was runny you could see the butter like it wasn't mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
DELICIOUS. I can imagine it would be even better with real strawberries, but all we had on hand were frozen. This frosting was still amazing and one of my friends said she'll never accept strawberry frosting that isn't made from real strawberries again. I think that, since I served it over a dark chocolate cake, I would watch the amount of sugar. It was really really sweet and I think a more fruity flavor would better compliment some desserts. Overall it was perfect though and I'm excited to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
What an awful gloopy mess! Save your cupcakes and use fresh, uncooked strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Strawberry Soda Syrup

Beat back the heat with ice-cold homemade strawberry sodas and lemonade!

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States