Real Strawberry Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
WOW, this is great! It's very, pure and yummy! I would use more strawberries next time, only cause I love them sooo much! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetfanatic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
These were GREAT!! I used a cup of pureed strawberries and added 2 T sweetened condensed milk to the mix. We didn't have the pudding mix. I also added pureed strawberries to the icing. This recipe is yummy because it doesn't have that weird jello mix taste. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
loved these. it's so hard to find recipes that are truly from scratch. I didn't add the pudding mix but otherwise followed the recipe & loved the delicate strawberry flavor. Only alteration i made was to put some chopped strawberries in the frosting for some color and added fruit. They were a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookieCritter
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
These cupcakes are really delicious! I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't have any fresh lemons to zest, so I used lime zest instead. The strawberry version tasted so wonderful that I tried puree blueberries too and they also came out very tasty and moist. I will definitely keep this recipe handy because they are a nice treat for pot lucks and family functions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieCritter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by drewface
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Really sorry about the frosting. It should read 1/2 cup cream cheese instead of 3/4 cup; I mistyped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
These were so delicious! i didnt have any pudding mix, so i didnt add it in, I will try it with the pudding next time. I also added some fresh strawberry puree to my cream cheese icing and added some red food colouring! a delicious fresh taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darcy
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
These were the BEST cupcakes I have ever made. I didn't have any lemon zest , and I made them without icing due to lack of ingredients at the time, but I will def. add them the next time I make them! I ended up substituting the oil with apple sauce, and all I had was white chocolate pudding mix, but it still resulted in the yummiest ( and very moist) cupcakes ever! I also threw in some coconut and b/c i didn't have icing, I put on a few shaved almonds! These are so adorable and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I'm rating the cupcake portion only. I did use the pudding mix. These are wonderful cupcakes. They are a little more dense than other cupcakes - probably due to the strawberry puree. The flavor is wonderful. I have picky family members who don't like cream cheese frosting, so I made a strawberry buttercream using butter, confectioners' sugar, strawberry puree, and vanilla. I also left some plain for my diabetic husband. They are delicious either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Sharonna
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I made these cupcakes topped with chocolate-dipped strawberries for my son's wedding and they were a big hit! I followed the recipe as written and they were perfect--I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Uber easy! My little sister-in-law asked for a strawberry cake for her Bday and, realizing i had never seen a recipe for one i stumbled on this recipe. I skipped out on the food coloring and they were a tinge of pink anyway. I didnt strain the puree b/c my strainer would not have strained most of the seeds. i added more than 1/2 cup powdered sugar to the frosting because all i could taste was cream cheese and i wanted to make it a bit more thick so that i could pipe it out. i also added some lemon zest to the frosting b/c i just felt like it and was glad i did when i tasted it, thought it added a nice Zing to the frosting. When my sweetheart tasted the batter and i think he re-realized why he loves me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States