Real Strawberry Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
We love these. We added a little more puree to the cake portion and also added some to the frosting. So good. I don't usually like strawberry cupcakes (uber chocolate fan), but LOVED these. This was my first time making cupcakes and these were tasty, moist, and pretty. We skipped the fresh strawberry on top and added edible pearls instead. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
My daughter wanted strawberry cupcakes with strawberry frosting for her 4th birthday and these fit the bill nicely. I did not modify the cake recipe at all, except to bake some as mini-cupcakes (see below). For the frosting: To add strawberry flavor, I used about 4 TBL of organic strawberry jam, figuring it would add flavor without making the frosting too runny. The counterpoint between the sweet strawberry flavor and the tart cream cheese made them taste a bit like strawberry cheesecake! Also, I doubled the frosting recipe because I like to pipe the frosting onto the cupcakes and that takes a bit more per cupcake. And I used red paste coloring to make it a cheerful bright pink for my daughter's party. Finally, I topped with "valentine's" nonpareil mix for added fun. I baked this recipe as 24 mini-cupcakes and had enough batter left for 6 regular size. I baked the minis for 5 minutes, checked and turned the pan, then baked for 5 more. I baked the regular size for about 20 minutes total, as directed. Everyone really enjoyed them and several people asked for the recipe. They looked super sweet displayed on a mini-cupcake rack that I bought from a local craft store. And mini-cupcakes are really the perfect size for kids...so much easier for them to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
not my favorite but it was ok i made them with my brothers and they had lots of trouble so it isnt good for younger kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
they were ok - used white whole wheat so it was a bit more like muffin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Gorgeous cupcakes (really more of a muffin but who cares) they were lovely and moist. I didn't have pudding mix and used less sugar but I did add a little strawberry extract as others complained of the lack of strawberry taste. I made a sour cream icing instead as well, Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
These were AWFUL. Like another reviewer said, they tasted like muffins. They were not sweet like a cupcake and were very dense like a muffin. I am glad there was plenty of food at the party I went to so few peopled tried these because when I did I was so embarrassed. I followed recipe exactly except no lemon zest and used applesauce instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I was so pleased with how these turned out and darned proud to serve them too. Everything about them was right. At first glance, they're pretty and inviting, just tempting you to pick one up and take a bite. The top of the cupcake has a slight crispiness to it, similar to a pound cake. The cake is moist and full of fresh flavor, tho' I did my best to ensure that by eliminating the lemon zest and adding 1/2 tsp. of strawberry extract. I did use the pudding mix and I swear it makes a difference in terms of moistness (and it's a much cheaper alternative to the cake enhancer King Arthur Flour sells). I did alter the frosting as I wanted something sweeter and not quite as tangy as I knew only 1/2 cup of powdered sugar would make this. I also wanted more of it. So - I used a full package of cream cheese, 1/4 cup butter, 1 tsp. vanilla, 1/2 tsp. strawberry extract and a tablespoon or two of pureed strawberries which gave it a delicate strawberry flavor and a pretty pink blush. Rather than garnishing with sliced strawberries I used whole strawberries so they wouldn't bleed into the frosting. Simply loved 'em - nothing about these not to like, particularly with the modifications I made for extra strawberry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
These are really great cupcakes! I've made them multiple times for various occasions. They are always well received! My kids frequently request them for birthdays. In the spring we have fresh strawberries straight from our garden. Using ripe, sweet strawberries is key to getting that great strawberry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NDG1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hydro, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I have made these twice now and they are simply amazing. Everything about them is perfect. The fresh fruit really adds that special something that you just cant get from a box. They are easy to make and everyone that has tried them loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chester, California, USA
Living In: Portola, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
this is a great recipe! I followed the recipe and my cupcakes turned out perfect! I will defiantly use this recipe over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla Bell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States