Real Strawberry Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Taste good FOR A Muffin. This does not taste like a cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I loved this recipe! The cream cheese frosting was the best part -- and I'm NOT a frosting gal. I diced some strawberries up into very small peices and sprinkled them on top for a pretty and dainty look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkpigeon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Campania, Italy
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
These were a huge hit with the whole family - me, husband, 6-year old, and 2-year old. Easy to make too. I am vegetarian and like that the recipe uses actual strawberries instead of gelatin or something similar. I doubled the frosting recipe : ). I will make these regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This is not the best strawberry cupcake recipe I have tasted. And the icing was a bit to cheesy as supposed to a nice balance between the sugar and cream cheese flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I would rate this with 3 stars, but the rest of my family gave it 5, so I am averaging it with 4. When I make cupcakes, I am always hoping for a light, moist, fluffy cupcake, and that is not what you get with this recipe. They are definitely moist, but much denser and heavier that I would have liked. The frosting is great, but I had to add almost triple the amount of sugar to make it the consistency that I wanted. My family really enjoyed these, and they were all gone at the end of the weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
These came out fantastic. I only made half the batter because these were more of an experiment. I'm the only one who really eats cupcakes in our house. I still could've easily came out with ten cupcakes though. They are really sweet, so next time I will cut down on the sugar quite a bit, but they taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I tried this recipe for the first time last week, following some of the suggestions from other reviews. They turned out very good, everyone was so pleased with them, that I just baked them again for my daughter's BD tomorrow. This time I realized too late I didn't have enough vegetable oil, so I used apple sauce instead... they turned out incredible!! they're amazingly moist, and the flavor improved a great deal. I think I found my new go-to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs.embee
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
The cake was great, but I didn't care for the frosting (it was very thin). I used cake flour, added 2T heavy whipping cream to the strawberry puree and didn't bother straining the seeds. Next time to add even more strawberry flavor I will substitute strawberry extract for the vanilla. I filled the tins 3/4 full and all 15 of them domed nicely. I do love that this recipe calls for vegetable oil instead of butter; now I can bake delicious strawberry cupcakes whenever I feel like it - whether I have softened butter or not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shellybeans
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
The cupcakes have a very nice natural coloring, sweetness, and are not too sugary. I followed the recipe exactly but added a few more strawberries. I also followed the frosting exactly and it is very cream cheesy, which I liked a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shellybeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mberg1977
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Great recipe, I made these for my third graders and their Valentine's Day party. I had to use MUCH more than a drop of red food coloring (more like 10 drops) to get the batter to become a nice pink color. Also I was going to add the strawberries fresh the next day but I grated some dark chocolate and sprinkled some red sugar over the icing and it looked great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mberg1977
Home Town: Audubon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States