Real Strawberry Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
these looked and tasted very unappealing! the color the strawberries turn the cake after they cook is brown, even with 2 drops of food coloring. The taste is also not right, it just tastes like baking powder, with no strawberry flavor. I made them for a party and was too embarrassed to bring them. Save yourself the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Perry Segall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Really great recipe FOR THE CUPCAKES. However, the icing was not so good. I followed the cupcake recipe exactly and they were delicious. I tried making the icing as well, but it just wasn't good. I ended up throwing it out and making buttercream icing with strawberry puree added. The cupcakes were for my boss' birthday and he and my co-workers loved them. As a matter of fact, my boss didn't want to share them, instead he offered out a couple and took the rest home to his wife and kids. They were so moist and light. Loved the cupcake recipe, skip on the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
very delicious i didnt have to pour the puree in a strainer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
No strawberry flavor to speak of, tasted more like a low sugar white cake. With any flavor icing it is still a moist and tastey cupcake, I just wouldn't call it strawberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mchammett0515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mandalin84
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I love these cupcakes because they are made from real strawberries. The recipe as is, is getting a "3" rating from me. The strawberry flavor was not that strong, the pudding mix made the cupcakes have a weird texture and the cream cheese was too overpowering. The second time I made them I made some modifications and they were a "5"!!! I increased the amount of strawberry puree, omitted the pudding mix and added more powdered sugar to the icing....delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandalin84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This recipe was good if you were looking for strawberry muffins, but I wouldn't want to serve them as cupcakes. Too dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Shelbyville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I thought these were quite delicious. However next time I think I need to add more strawberries as they strawberry flavor was not as strong as I would like it to be. I did follow the recipe exactly. Also I did not use the frosting but instead used a Champagne Vanilla buttercream frosting. Tasted like Strawberries and Champagne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
The cake part of this wasn't sweet at all I will not use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tay Tay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by greekqt
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Great recipe! I doubled it and it made 30 cupcakes. I followed the recipe - included the pudding mix. I found that they had a great strawberry flavour! But maybe its because I used very ripe strawberrys :) I did not use the cream cheese icing but instead used a buttercream icing also from this site! It was delish! Definitely would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greekqt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
No strawberry flavor. I thought it was just a mound of sugar that I was eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimblyn Horton Begonia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Manteca, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States