Real Strawberry Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
these looked and tasted very unappealing! the color the strawberries turn the cake after they cook is brown, even with 2 drops of food coloring. The taste is also not right, it just tastes like baking powder, with no strawberry flavor. I made them for a party and was too embarrassed to bring them. Save yourself the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Perry Segall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Really great recipe FOR THE CUPCAKES. However, the icing was not so good. I followed the cupcake recipe exactly and they were delicious. I tried making the icing as well, but it just wasn't good. I ended up throwing it out and making buttercream icing with strawberry puree added. The cupcakes were for my boss' birthday and he and my co-workers loved them. As a matter of fact, my boss didn't want to share them, instead he offered out a couple and took the rest home to his wife and kids. They were so moist and light. Loved the cupcake recipe, skip on the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
very delicious i didnt have to pour the puree in a strainer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
No strawberry flavor to speak of, tasted more like a low sugar white cake. With any flavor icing it is still a moist and tastey cupcake, I just wouldn't call it strawberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mchammett0515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mandalin84
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I love these cupcakes because they are made from real strawberries. The recipe as is, is getting a "3" rating from me. The strawberry flavor was not that strong, the pudding mix made the cupcakes have a weird texture and the cream cheese was too overpowering. The second time I made them I made some modifications and they were a "5"!!! I increased the amount of strawberry puree, omitted the pudding mix and added more powdered sugar to the icing....delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandalin84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This recipe was good if you were looking for strawberry muffins, but I wouldn't want to serve them as cupcakes. Too dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Shelbyville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I thought these were quite delicious. However next time I think I need to add more strawberries as they strawberry flavor was not as strong as I would like it to be. I did follow the recipe exactly. Also I did not use the frosting but instead used a Champagne Vanilla buttercream frosting. Tasted like Strawberries and Champagne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
The cake part of this wasn't sweet at all I will not use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tay Tay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by greekqt
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Great recipe! I doubled it and it made 30 cupcakes. I followed the recipe - included the pudding mix. I found that they had a great strawberry flavour! But maybe its because I used very ripe strawberrys :) I did not use the cream cheese icing but instead used a buttercream icing also from this site! It was delish! Definitely would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greekqt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
No strawberry flavor. I thought it was just a mound of sugar that I was eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimblyn Horton Begonia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Manteca, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States