Real Strawberry Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Yummy cupcake!!! Note to self... buy frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
My kids love these summertime cupcakes. I have also made them with frozen strawberries, and they turn out nice. I think the addition of the pudding mix makes them very moist and gives that extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Yes, these are more muffins than cupcakes. HOWEVER, they are still delicious and were a big hit with my family…as in “double batch was gone in under half an hour” good! I made a few changes, based on other reviews. I used cake flour instead of AP, although the resulting product was still not what I would call “light” (more like apple/spice muffins than pound cake, w/ a sticky, not crispy top); I used the pudding mix, so that could be why. For a double batch (~33 cupcakes), I pureed enough strawberries to fill to the 3.5 C mark on my blender, then pushed the puree through a strainer as recommended in the recipe. I didn’t add any food coloring or strawberry flavoring; the cakes were pale grey/pink in color (which didn’t bother me) and had plenty of natural strawberry flavor. I did attempt to inject strawberry “spread” (not jam, which would have been too lumpy) into the cakes after they were cool, though. I was unsure how to convert the frosting recipe (others’ suggestions, double batch, etc.), so I used: (2) 8-oz cream cheese pkgs, (1) stick butter, 2C powdered sugar, & 2 tsp vanilla (clear so it wouldn’t color the frosting). I chopped up and gently stirred in enough strawberries to get a good distribution of flavor and color, then I topped off each cupcake with a slice of strawberry. The result was tasty & adorable. Make sure to keep the frosted cakes as cool as possible, or the frosting will melt! My Easter guests & I really enjoyed these; they’re worth the 5 stars! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: Homer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Gotta agree with Alannah on this one.. if I ate this with my eyes closed I'd only taste a normal (a bit denser than expected) vanilla cupcake with strong cream cheese frosting... cannot taste the strawberry at all!! I added white chocolate chips which helped make the flavor a bit more interesting.. but overall not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
these were really good... made our own frosting though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I was disappointed. They came out like blah tasting muffins vs cupcakes. I read other reviews and others said the same. i did add the instant pudding which was optional. i did not make the icing, i made my own. This review was on the cupcakes themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA
Living In: La Center, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This is the best strawberry cupcake recipe! It is fresh, fluffy, and delicious! I would highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
DELICIOUS!!! these cupcakes were so light and fluffy!!! but I used a little bit more than 1 cup of pureed strawberries and the flavor was wonderful! REALLY GREAT RECIPE!!! but i didn't try the icing..but it sounds great!! mmmmmm...yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tammy Weatherly
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Loved them! Very good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Weatherly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States