Real Strawberry Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
These cup cakes are very dense and taste more like a muffin (a bland muffin) then cake. I did a test run before making them for my daughters birthday party and good thing I did because I will not be using this recipe. Sorry but not so good :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I love love love this recipe! These cupcakes are delicious! I made them for friends on Valentine's Day. I decided to test it out on my coworkers the week before since I'd never used the recipe before and sometimes things need to be altered. I decided to use more strawberry puree in the batter for the Valentine's batch because I felt like the cupcakes were good the first time, but not strawberry-y enough. I also thought the icing was too cheesey so I used less cream cheese the second time and everything turned out great! I also baked them at 350 instead of 325 because they didn't bake properly at 325.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
tasty! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxann VR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
These are fantastic! They have a nice crisp outside and a fluffy inside. I added more strawberry, but a little too much so they had to bake for 15 more minutes. However, they were wonderful. I also added chocolate chips and skipped the frosting just to cut back on some of the sugar and fat. But I'm sure the frosting would be great. I will make these with raspberries next time since I have some in the freezer. Thanks for the outstanding recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
These are good muffins, terrible cupcakes.They come out dense and filling, I used chocolate frosting, hoping to get a chocolate covered strawberry taste and it didnt work out. I will make these again for breakfast without frosting and add in more strawberries. I used frozen strawberries instead of fresh it worked well but it needed more strawberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Poplar Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I was really hoping for these to be my perfect strawberry cupcakes, but the other reviewers were right....these are more like muffins. I was disappointed. Nothing light and fluffy about these at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This is a GREAT cupcake. I made them for my wife's birthday recently, used buttercream frosting with a strawberry on top, and drizzled dark chocolate ganache over. They were a MAJOR hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen DeKok

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carmichael, California, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Yummy cupcake!!! Note to self... buy frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
My kids love these summertime cupcakes. I have also made them with frozen strawberries, and they turn out nice. I think the addition of the pudding mix makes them very moist and gives that extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Yes, these are more muffins than cupcakes. HOWEVER, they are still delicious and were a big hit with my family…as in “double batch was gone in under half an hour” good! I made a few changes, based on other reviews. I used cake flour instead of AP, although the resulting product was still not what I would call “light” (more like apple/spice muffins than pound cake, w/ a sticky, not crispy top); I used the pudding mix, so that could be why. For a double batch (~33 cupcakes), I pureed enough strawberries to fill to the 3.5 C mark on my blender, then pushed the puree through a strainer as recommended in the recipe. I didn’t add any food coloring or strawberry flavoring; the cakes were pale grey/pink in color (which didn’t bother me) and had plenty of natural strawberry flavor. I did attempt to inject strawberry “spread” (not jam, which would have been too lumpy) into the cakes after they were cool, though. I was unsure how to convert the frosting recipe (others’ suggestions, double batch, etc.), so I used: (2) 8-oz cream cheese pkgs, (1) stick butter, 2C powdered sugar, & 2 tsp vanilla (clear so it wouldn’t color the frosting). I chopped up and gently stirred in enough strawberries to get a good distribution of flavor and color, then I topped off each cupcake with a slice of strawberry. The result was tasty & adorable. Make sure to keep the frosted cakes as cool as possible, or the frosting will melt! My Easter guests & I really enjoyed these; they’re worth the 5 stars! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States