Real Strawberry Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
These cup cakes are very dense and taste more like a muffin (a bland muffin) then cake. I did a test run before making them for my daughters birthday party and good thing I did because I will not be using this recipe. Sorry but not so good :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I love love love this recipe! These cupcakes are delicious! I made them for friends on Valentine's Day. I decided to test it out on my coworkers the week before since I'd never used the recipe before and sometimes things need to be altered. I decided to use more strawberry puree in the batter for the Valentine's batch because I felt like the cupcakes were good the first time, but not strawberry-y enough. I also thought the icing was too cheesey so I used less cream cheese the second time and everything turned out great! I also baked them at 350 instead of 325 because they didn't bake properly at 325.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
tasty! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxann VR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
These are fantastic! They have a nice crisp outside and a fluffy inside. I added more strawberry, but a little too much so they had to bake for 15 more minutes. However, they were wonderful. I also added chocolate chips and skipped the frosting just to cut back on some of the sugar and fat. But I'm sure the frosting would be great. I will make these with raspberries next time since I have some in the freezer. Thanks for the outstanding recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
These are good muffins, terrible cupcakes.They come out dense and filling, I used chocolate frosting, hoping to get a chocolate covered strawberry taste and it didnt work out. I will make these again for breakfast without frosting and add in more strawberries. I used frozen strawberries instead of fresh it worked well but it needed more strawberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Poplar Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I was really hoping for these to be my perfect strawberry cupcakes, but the other reviewers were right....these are more like muffins. I was disappointed. Nothing light and fluffy about these at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This is a GREAT cupcake. I made them for my wife's birthday recently, used buttercream frosting with a strawberry on top, and drizzled dark chocolate ganache over. They were a MAJOR hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen DeKok

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carmichael, California, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Yummy cupcake!!! Note to self... buy frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
My kids love these summertime cupcakes. I have also made them with frozen strawberries, and they turn out nice. I think the addition of the pudding mix makes them very moist and gives that extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Yes, these are more muffins than cupcakes. HOWEVER, they are still delicious and were a big hit with my family…as in “double batch was gone in under half an hour” good! I made a few changes, based on other reviews. I used cake flour instead of AP, although the resulting product was still not what I would call “light” (more like apple/spice muffins than pound cake, w/ a sticky, not crispy top); I used the pudding mix, so that could be why. For a double batch (~33 cupcakes), I pureed enough strawberries to fill to the 3.5 C mark on my blender, then pushed the puree through a strainer as recommended in the recipe. I didn’t add any food coloring or strawberry flavoring; the cakes were pale grey/pink in color (which didn’t bother me) and had plenty of natural strawberry flavor. I did attempt to inject strawberry “spread” (not jam, which would have been too lumpy) into the cakes after they were cool, though. I was unsure how to convert the frosting recipe (others’ suggestions, double batch, etc.), so I used: (2) 8-oz cream cheese pkgs, (1) stick butter, 2C powdered sugar, & 2 tsp vanilla (clear so it wouldn’t color the frosting). I chopped up and gently stirred in enough strawberries to get a good distribution of flavor and color, then I topped off each cupcake with a slice of strawberry. The result was tasty & adorable. Make sure to keep the frosted cakes as cool as possible, or the frosting will melt! My Easter guests & I really enjoyed these; they’re worth the 5 stars! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States