Real Strawberry Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Others are right...more of a muffin than cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
These are very good. Easy to make, will make all summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwich, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I am going to make these for my daughters first birthday. The first time i made these the recipe made 16 cupcakes. contrary to some other reviews, i found the cake to be light and fluffy and not at all like a muffin or pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
These were a hit at my niece's wedding. People were raving about their light texture and fresh strawberry flavor. I keep receiving requests to bring them to other events. Thank you for such a yummy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Sooo disappointing. Came out wet, know matter how long I cooked them :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
T-E-R-R-I-B-L-E!!!! My hubby had one and I had a half. I made 6 Texas sized cupcakes [cannot be bothered with little cupcakes] and they did bake up beautifully in 30 minutes. They were light and airy using the pudding mix. But after those positive points, it was all downhill. I even followed "naples" suggestion of the strawberry extract, which I had on hand, and omitting the zest. And, why does every cupcake recipe have cream cheese in it??? Wish I would have followed my own common sense and made just a simple buttercream/or vanilla icing. All we could taste was cheese....NO STRAWBERRY flavor whatsoever. What a waste! Actually, I doubt there is a strawberry cake/cupcake out there that actually tastes like strawberry. It's a very delicate flavor, not easily duplicated. Then to slather it in cheese flavor...YUK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACKIE2830

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
These are fantastic. I didn't have any pudding mix so I skipped this but I added extra strawberries, probably about a cup and they moistened the batter. I didn't use food coloring and they still came out pink. We used a full block of cream cheese to the frosting so it didn't come out as sweet. Just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I agree with another reviewer, these are muffins. Not bad muffins, but muffins because of how dense. The icing I saw the poster corrected was supposed to be 1/2 cup cream cheese, I saw that after my attempt. Just added more other ingredients to balance and had too much icing. Still strawberries and cream cheese are great together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Test Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I liked this recipe and I have replaced this recipe for the fresh strawberry cake recipe I have had for years that used strawberry gelatin as an ingredient. These are better because it has fresh strawberries as the main ingredient. I am going to use cake flour the next time I make these for a lighter cupcake texture. A great flavor boost that was a hit that I tried was to put in a bit of strawberry daiquiri drink mix into the cream cheese frosting. It gave the frosting a nice flavor boost that was a hit when I served these cupcakes at a family reunion. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kikikim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sara fang
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I dont know why my review didnt get in. I will try again cos it's just very good and i was very pleased with the outcome. I used more strawberries, didnt use the pudding mix nor red coloring and I reduced the confectioners' sugar to 1/3 cup. That's it. They turned out great - our neighbour boy and my son had first tasting and they were jumping up and down with delight! Then we brought a dozen to our potluck party and everyone wanted one! A couple even took one home for tea the next day. Delightful! Thanks DrewFace. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States