Real Strawberry Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I loved this recipe! I used sifted cake flour which made the cupcakes lighter. I also added a little bit on strawberry extract to add a stronger strawberry flavor. The frosting recipe is great, but I would double the recipe. The amount of frosting yielded from the recipe was not enough to cover the cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Uber easy! My little sister-in-law asked for a strawberry cake for her Bday and, realizing i had never seen a recipe for one i stumbled on this recipe. I skipped out on the food coloring and they were a tinge of pink anyway. I didnt strain the puree b/c my strainer would not have strained most of the seeds. i added more than 1/2 cup powdered sugar to the frosting because all i could taste was cream cheese and i wanted to make it a bit more thick so that i could pipe it out. i also added some lemon zest to the frosting b/c i just felt like it and was glad i did when i tasted it, thought it added a nice Zing to the frosting. When my sweetheart tasted the batter and i think he re-realized why he loves me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharonna
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I made these cupcakes topped with chocolate-dipped strawberries for my son's wedding and they were a big hit! I followed the recipe as written and they were perfect--I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
My family loved these. Lasted about 30 minutes and they were gone! Making more this weekend:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jai
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
These are very good but like another reviewer stated, they are more like muffins. I followed the directions exactly (including optional pudding) and I was not disappointed. The family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I'm rating the cupcake portion only. I did use the pudding mix. These are wonderful cupcakes. They are a little more dense than other cupcakes - probably due to the strawberry puree. The flavor is wonderful. I have picky family members who don't like cream cheese frosting, so I made a strawberry buttercream using butter, confectioners' sugar, strawberry puree, and vanilla. I also left some plain for my diabetic husband. They are delicious either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by CookieCritter
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
These cupcakes are really delicious! I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't have any fresh lemons to zest, so I used lime zest instead. The strawberry version tasted so wonderful that I tried puree blueberries too and they also came out very tasty and moist. I will definitely keep this recipe handy because they are a nice treat for pot lucks and family functions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieCritter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Jennifer
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Good cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Calico Rock, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
It is so nice to find this fresh recipe! I forgot to only use 1/2 cup of cream cheese and used 3/4 cup but the frosting was perfect with the cupcakes. I also substituted 1/2 the flour for whole wheat, which made them kind of ugly but they were still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvalee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darcy
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
These were the BEST cupcakes I have ever made. I didn't have any lemon zest , and I made them without icing due to lack of ingredients at the time, but I will def. add them the next time I make them! I ended up substituting the oil with apple sauce, and all I had was white chocolate pudding mix, but it still resulted in the yummiest ( and very moist) cupcakes ever! I also threw in some coconut and b/c i didn't have icing, I put on a few shaved almonds! These are so adorable and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States