Real Strawberry Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I hate to give a bad review, but unfortunately these are not cupcakes. They are muffins - dense and bread-y. The strawberry flavour didn't come out at all and I did not end up bringing them to the social function I made them for because they really didn't taste that good. Now I know to give these recipes a trial run first. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
These were so delicious! i didnt have any pudding mix, so i didnt add it in, I will try it with the pudding next time. I also added some fresh strawberry puree to my cream cheese icing and added some red food colouring! a delicious fresh taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I made these following the recipe to a t. the only thing i did was omitt the lemon zest..they are alright but just very bland...the strawberry taste was not strong at all...i dont think ill make this again but if i do ill be adding wayy more strawberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kait20

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I'm just not quite sure how to review this one. I took the submitter's suggestion and made this into a cake, following the directions to a 't'. The flavor is wonderful, but this does not make a good cake. It was very much like a dense quick bread and did not look attractive when cut. It was rather grayish in color after baking( I would have used the optional food coloring but the raw batter looked appealing enough). Still, it's just too dense for a cake. Tasters raved over it nonetheless. I would use this recipe the next time I want a strawberry quick bread, but I would not even make 'cupcakes' with this recipe. My review does not include the cream cheese icing as I did not make that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
The cake comes out a little dense, like muffins or zucchini bread, so be sure to put the amount specified in the cups. I skimped a bit, and some of my cupcakes didn't reach the tops of their liners. For the frosting, I used 1/2 cup cream cheese, the butter and vanilla, another cup or so of confectioners sugar, and some mashed strawberries. A very good use for fresh strawberries, and I might try this with frozen strawberries this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I gave it 4 stars because I changed it a bit, I didnt use the cream cheese icing. I used some of the strawberry puree and mixed it with confectioners sugar and some strawberry extract. It turned out really well! I think next time I will make it into a regular cake instead of cupcakes. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
these were tasty, especially made with fresh-picked strawberries. i only made the cupcakes; too lazy to make icing from scratch when i had a perfectly good can in the cupboard (i know, i know). i also was too lazy to strain the puree; after about 2 minutes of trying it, i just threw it in, seeds and all, and they tasted swell. i also used just over a cup of puree; meant to just put in a cup and save the rest to jazz up the icing, but c'est la vie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
loved these. it's so hard to find recipes that are truly from scratch. I didn't add the pudding mix but otherwise followed the recipe & loved the delicate strawberry flavor. Only alteration i made was to put some chopped strawberries in the frosting for some color and added fruit. They were a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by drewface
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Really sorry about the frosting. It should read 1/2 cup cream cheese instead of 3/4 cup; I mistyped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Cake was good, but cream cheese is too heavy like someone else said. If I made them again, I'd use a light frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States