Real Strawberry Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
These were AWFUL. Like another reviewer said, they tasted like muffins. They were not sweet like a cupcake and were very dense like a muffin. I am glad there was plenty of food at the party I went to so few peopled tried these because when I did I was so embarrassed. I followed recipe exactly except no lemon zest and used applesauce instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I was so pleased with how these turned out and darned proud to serve them too. Everything about them was right. At first glance, they're pretty and inviting, just tempting you to pick one up and take a bite. The top of the cupcake has a slight crispiness to it, similar to a pound cake. The cake is moist and full of fresh flavor, tho' I did my best to ensure that by eliminating the lemon zest and adding 1/2 tsp. of strawberry extract. I did use the pudding mix and I swear it makes a difference in terms of moistness (and it's a much cheaper alternative to the cake enhancer King Arthur Flour sells). I did alter the frosting as I wanted something sweeter and not quite as tangy as I knew only 1/2 cup of powdered sugar would make this. I also wanted more of it. So - I used a full package of cream cheese, 1/4 cup butter, 1 tsp. vanilla, 1/2 tsp. strawberry extract and a tablespoon or two of pureed strawberries which gave it a delicate strawberry flavor and a pretty pink blush. Rather than garnishing with sliced strawberries I used whole strawberries so they wouldn't bleed into the frosting. Simply loved 'em - nothing about these not to like, particularly with the modifications I made for extra strawberry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
These are really great cupcakes! I've made them multiple times for various occasions. They are always well received! My kids frequently request them for birthdays. In the spring we have fresh strawberries straight from our garden. Using ripe, sweet strawberries is key to getting that great strawberry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NDG1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hydro, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I have made these twice now and they are simply amazing. Everything about them is perfect. The fresh fruit really adds that special something that you just cant get from a box. They are easy to make and everyone that has tried them loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chester, California, USA
Living In: Portola, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
this is a great recipe! I followed the recipe and my cupcakes turned out perfect! I will defiantly use this recipe over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla Bell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I loved this recipe! I used sifted cake flour which made the cupcakes lighter. I also added a little bit on strawberry extract to add a stronger strawberry flavor. The frosting recipe is great, but I would double the recipe. The amount of frosting yielded from the recipe was not enough to cover the cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Uber easy! My little sister-in-law asked for a strawberry cake for her Bday and, realizing i had never seen a recipe for one i stumbled on this recipe. I skipped out on the food coloring and they were a tinge of pink anyway. I didnt strain the puree b/c my strainer would not have strained most of the seeds. i added more than 1/2 cup powdered sugar to the frosting because all i could taste was cream cheese and i wanted to make it a bit more thick so that i could pipe it out. i also added some lemon zest to the frosting b/c i just felt like it and was glad i did when i tasted it, thought it added a nice Zing to the frosting. When my sweetheart tasted the batter and i think he re-realized why he loves me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharonna
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I made these cupcakes topped with chocolate-dipped strawberries for my son's wedding and they were a big hit! I followed the recipe as written and they were perfect--I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
My family loved these. Lasted about 30 minutes and they were gone! Making more this weekend:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jai
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
These are very good but like another reviewer stated, they are more like muffins. I followed the directions exactly (including optional pudding) and I was not disappointed. The family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States