Real Southern Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
The only change I made was to halve this recipe. After baking over an hour it was still not cooked inside, but the outside was pretty brown. We ate what we could be it was pretty bland. If we put chunks of it IN the chili that was the only way it was palatable. Threw away the rest. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This is what the name says - real southern cornbread. I only have a small cast iron skillet and so cooked part of it in there and the rest in a pyrex dish and the skillet bread was definitely better. The crust is great - a bit crunchy on edges and chewy on the top. Delicious with chili and other soups where sweet cornbread just doesn't work and also great for dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
great! also added some cheddar cheese chunks. they sink to where they're near the bottom and cook to make a delicious and cheesy crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
I was so excited to find this recipe...cornbread in a cast iron skillet like my grandmother used to make when I was a little girl. I followed directions exactly and was disappointed in the results. It lacked something in the flavor department. I am not sure what...just not that tasty and flavorful. I will keep searching for a true old-fashioned southern cornbread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
I halved this recipe and cooked it in an 8x8 pan because I don't have a skillet. The bread turned out dense, rich, buttery and tangy. It was very good, however the buttermilk flavor was a little more than I am used to. Next time I will probably experiment with less buttermilk and a little regular milk to cut down on the tangy-ness. Overall, very good though, highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilburton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
My husband really liked this alot. It was light and fluffy. I thought it was o.k. It needed more of something, but I'm not sure what. I thought it was lacking in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I, being a Yankee, loved this recipie. Easy and not too sweet. My Husband, who swears by his mother's authentic Southwestern cornbread (a very similar recipie), did not like the texture- he said the texture was too much like the sweet cornbread. Oh well, I will make this again anyway, I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Fantastic, goes with my chili well. Sweeter and more moist than I expected, but I was used to my x mother-in-law's, which was flat and more dry. I halved it and used canola oil, worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I thought I'd never again have cornbread like my mother used to make. I used butter instead of margarine and it turned out perfect. It brought back so many memories of her Missouri style cookin'. Thanks Jason!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
I was so happy to find this recipe. The only one I had was my mother's but my husband and I always found it WAY too dry. This one is perfectly moist and not too sweet like most corncakes trying to pass as cornbread. It is a little bland, but has much more flavor than most. Be careful to watch it while it's on the stove. AS SOON as it starts bubbling, take it off. If it bubbles even just a little too long, you risk burning the bottom. If you half this recipe, it fits perfectly in a 10" pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Nichol Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States