Real Southern Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
ich fands sehr lecker, für Christi zu unsüß
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I think this is a great simple and classic cornbread recipe. I hate dry cornbread, and this one is very moist! My whole family loved it. It was perfect with the "Terry's Texas Pinto Beans" recipe on this site. I took the advice of another reviewer and adjusted the cornmeal to flour ratio, to avoid the "cakey" factor, and I'm glad I did...2 & 1/2 cups cornmeal and 1 & 1/2 cups flour was perfect to me. I didn't have a cast-iron skillet so I just used a 9x13 metal pan and baked on 400 for 40 minutes instead. Will definitely make again! Thanks, Jason!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Dee's Yummies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by P.Smith
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I've been looking for a cornbread recipe like my mother made when we were kids, and this is it! I cut the amount in half, and it fit nicely in my 8 inch skillet. I followed the recipe exactly and it made true, southern cornbread, with the buttermilk adding a nice tang to the taste! I did, however, find the texture and crust to be too "cake-like." I made it again, but changed the cornmeal to flour ratio from 1:1 to 2:1 (more cornmeal and less flour) and it was perfect, to me. Served it with a pot of brown beans and I was in heaven. If you like your cornbread unsweetened, then this is the recipe for you. Five stars and highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P.Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Excellent cornbread. I have been looking for a recipe that was just like my mom makes and this is it. Her recipe was a little bit of this and a little bit of that...not a recipe to me. This was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Excellent. This is exactly what I wanted to serve with sour cream chicken. Not sweet, but good and simple, to complement the other meal components. I cut the margerine in half and added 1 T brown sugar to cut the bitterness of the cornmeal, and baked it in the oven (no stovetop step) at 400 for 40 mins. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Tried this corn bread using the exact recipe. Perfect! Had it with chilli and even with scrambled eggs. One of the best corn bread recipes for me. Amazing texture. perfect fit in skillet, did not overflow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I'm 55 years old and grew up on my Grandmother's cornbread in rural East TN. It was unsweetened, self rising and dry as a bone. I loved it. My wife would make cornbread when we were first married, and every now and then, it would have a fluffy texture but she couldn't duplicate it every time. This recipe is the best I've ever had and we make nothing else now. Thank you so much for setting us straight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry & Annie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
The name of this is very misleading; there is just too much flour and buttermilk in the recipe. That being said, I liked that this was not sweet, but I found the texture to be way off. I will definitely use this recipe again, but will have to play with the amounts to get the texture / density of a true southern cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
good for stuffing = not sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
You have to make sure you are using a 12 inch (big) cast iron skillet, or it won't get done. Otherwise, very good and my mom is a "southern belle" and has always cooked our cornbread in a cast iron skillet. Her recipe doesn't call for as much flour or buttermilk, but otherwise this is a good recipe too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States