Real Southern Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
You lost me with the flour; that's not TRUE southern cornbread. It's never seen flour or sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylorsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Hard, bland and forgettable. That's all I can say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Marc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I was raised on real southern cornbread. (no sugar!!) and made with white cornmeal. (finer grain than yellow) so good with a nice pot of beans or greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seekaye5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
ich fands sehr lecker, für Christi zu unsüß
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I think this is a great simple and classic cornbread recipe. I hate dry cornbread, and this one is very moist! My whole family loved it. It was perfect with the "Terry's Texas Pinto Beans" recipe on this site. I took the advice of another reviewer and adjusted the cornmeal to flour ratio, to avoid the "cakey" factor, and I'm glad I did...2 & 1/2 cups cornmeal and 1 & 1/2 cups flour was perfect to me. I didn't have a cast-iron skillet so I just used a 9x13 metal pan and baked on 400 for 40 minutes instead. Will definitely make again! Thanks, Jason!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Dee's Yummies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by P.Smith
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I've been looking for a cornbread recipe like my mother made when we were kids, and this is it! I cut the amount in half, and it fit nicely in my 8 inch skillet. I followed the recipe exactly and it made true, southern cornbread, with the buttermilk adding a nice tang to the taste! I did, however, find the texture and crust to be too "cake-like." I made it again, but changed the cornmeal to flour ratio from 1:1 to 2:1 (more cornmeal and less flour) and it was perfect, to me. Served it with a pot of brown beans and I was in heaven. If you like your cornbread unsweetened, then this is the recipe for you. Five stars and highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P.Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Excellent cornbread. I have been looking for a recipe that was just like my mom makes and this is it. Her recipe was a little bit of this and a little bit of that...not a recipe to me. This was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Excellent. This is exactly what I wanted to serve with sour cream chicken. Not sweet, but good and simple, to complement the other meal components. I cut the margerine in half and added 1 T brown sugar to cut the bitterness of the cornmeal, and baked it in the oven (no stovetop step) at 400 for 40 mins. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Tried this corn bread using the exact recipe. Perfect! Had it with chilli and even with scrambled eggs. One of the best corn bread recipes for me. Amazing texture. perfect fit in skillet, did not overflow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I'm 55 years old and grew up on my Grandmother's cornbread in rural East TN. It was unsweetened, self rising and dry as a bone. I loved it. My wife would make cornbread when we were first married, and every now and then, it would have a fluffy texture but she couldn't duplicate it every time. This recipe is the best I've ever had and we make nothing else now. Thank you so much for setting us straight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry & Annie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States