Real Southern Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
So far, I like this recipe best for the cornbread---a little moister than the other so it got the extra star!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
this recipe is awesome and i've made it before but last night i decided to switch it up a little bit. instead of using 4 cups buttermilk i did 2 cups, plus one 14.75 oz. can of creamed corn and threw in about 1/2 a cup shredded cheddar cheese. all i have to say is this, i have never had cornbread that moist before in my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This is not good. It is not sweet at all and has a terrible baking soda after-taste. I would recommend looking for another recipe. It does look very nice, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This recipe has too much oil/margarine and not enough salt which makes for cornbread without a lot of pizzazz and a bit mushy. However it does bake up beautifully. Just not as tasty as other southern cornbread I've had...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
When making cornbread, butter can always be replaced with cooking oil. If cooking in a cast iron skillet, make sure the skillet is "seasoned" or the bread will stick. Good southern cooks never use their cornbread skillet for anything alse. It should never be washed, only wiped, else it will have to be re-seasoned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I would have left no stars if that was an option! PASS THIS ONE BY FOLKS!! I only used this because I couldn't find the one I normally use and the cooking was very similar: It's too fatty, calls for neither salt or sugar so it's quite bland and as dense as polenta- when cold it congealed. I had to blot the fat off the top before serving it and it was the low point of the meal. it's a waste of ingredients- don't bother!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I use oil instead of butter because there's so much of it. (I don't use margarine for health reasons) I saw a corn bread recipe on here with hot dogs, so I added them to this recipe and with the hot dogs this is one of my favorite dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
You lost me with the flour; that's not TRUE southern cornbread. It's never seen flour or sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylorsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Hard, bland and forgettable. That's all I can say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Marc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I was raised on real southern cornbread. (no sugar!!) and made with white cornmeal. (finer grain than yellow) so good with a nice pot of beans or greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seekaye5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States