Real Southern Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I'm an experienced cook, but I burned the heck out of this cornbread - not sure if high heat was a good idea. I'll try again but be sure to keep the heat med to med hi. Not a lot of flavor, but over cooking could have contributed. I'll try again because it was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I live in Mississippi and know how true southern cooks make cornbread. Nobody I know uses plain cornmeal and all-purpose flour when SELF-RISING Cornmeal MIX is on the shelf ready for the skillet in minutes. Every brand I've seen has a recipe for Buttermilk Cornbread on the side of the bag that is very close to how everyone makes it. Jason is correct: nobody adds sugar to cornbread. Leave it out. I've never heard of a whole cup of butter or margarine added before baking. That's 2 sticks people, and this is not supposed to be cake. 4 cups of buttermilk is way, way too much. Last of all, it's OK to use corn or other veggie oil, especially if you are vegetarian or have health issues that would preclude using pork drippings. So here's my recipe: 2 cups self-rising cornmeal mix 1 1/2 to 2 cups buttermilk 1/4 teaspoon baking soda 2 eggs, lightly beaten 1/4 cup bacon drippings Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Add bacon drippings to a well-seasoned 9-inch cast iron skillet and place in oven while it preheats. Combine eggs and buttermilk in a medium size mixing bowl, add the cornmeal mix and blend thoroughly. Remove the hot skillet from the oven, pour the hot drippings into the cornbread batter, then stir to quickly incorporate it. Pour the mix back into the skillet, and bake 15 to 20 minutes or until golden brown. Slather on all the butter you want and eat it while it's hot. You won't stop with one slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Anne Marie Sweden I grow up in south east Kentucky and my Grandma made corn bread this way eccept for the butter which we put on the hot cornbread after it was out of the oven. she lived till she was 101 years before she died, Yes some Hillbillies used bacon fat, but true country corn bread is made with just about any rendered fat on hand. Plus the flour was used from 1800 to now which made the corn bread lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shutter bug 1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This is great cornbread Jason! I hav not had such good cornbread since my mom passed away. I remember the first time I was served cornbread after moving to California. It was way sweet...I almost spit it out, but remembered my manners just in time. I don't know why people add sugar. Thanks for sharing. Nelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
i did not care for this recipes.....use the recipe on the back of Aunt Jemima Self-rising Buttermilk cornmeal mix, and add 1 cup of buttermilk,1/2 cup water,1 tbsp. butter and 1tsp. sugar and you will have delicious cornbread......can make in iron skillet or muffin pan....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mona Greer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
jason, thank you very much for a recipe w/out SUGAR. i have always left it out, cuz with sugar i call it johnnycake. thanks again, tab
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I've enjoyed making this a few times. It is better with 1/2 cup butter instead of 1 cup of butter. I may try it with less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrankS

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Perfet except for one thing....you forgot to put the cracklings in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Cook, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
very simple and very good! add some chopped pickled jalapenos for some added kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I do realize this was posted many years ago however, I want to say THANK YOU!!!!! for posting it. My mom has be gone for some time now and then my house burned down. I didnt think I would ever get to taste her bread again...God Bless you for this. ITS THE BEST EVER, now I get to make her homemade stuffing for Thanksgiving & Christmas. I cant wait to share it with my boyfriend and my girls.... Once again.... THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise W

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Fox Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States