Real Southern Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I really enjoyed this! Very easy to make. Great recipe for cornbread that isn't sweet. I halved the recipe and put it in a 10 inch skillet. I didn't heat the oil on the stove but in the oven. Heating hot oill on high heat on the stove sounds dangerous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Hubby made this tonight and it's delicious. Not sweet - which is how he likes it - but I like it sweet so we just glazed my piece with honey. Not sure what happened but we were able to make a full cast iron full, and another cast iron (divided for cornbread) full! Will cut in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
So greasy I couldn't even finish one piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Jaffa, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I'm an experienced cook, but I burned the heck out of this cornbread - not sure if high heat was a good idea. I'll try again but be sure to keep the heat med to med hi. Not a lot of flavor, but over cooking could have contributed. I'll try again because it was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I live in Mississippi and know how true southern cooks make cornbread. Nobody I know uses plain cornmeal and all-purpose flour when SELF-RISING Cornmeal MIX is on the shelf ready for the skillet in minutes. Every brand I've seen has a recipe for Buttermilk Cornbread on the side of the bag that is very close to how everyone makes it. Jason is correct: nobody adds sugar to cornbread. Leave it out. I've never heard of a whole cup of butter or margarine added before baking. That's 2 sticks people, and this is not supposed to be cake. 4 cups of buttermilk is way, way too much. Last of all, it's OK to use corn or other veggie oil, especially if you are vegetarian or have health issues that would preclude using pork drippings. So here's my recipe: 2 cups self-rising cornmeal mix 1 1/2 to 2 cups buttermilk 1/4 teaspoon baking soda 2 eggs, lightly beaten 1/4 cup bacon drippings Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Add bacon drippings to a well-seasoned 9-inch cast iron skillet and place in oven while it preheats. Combine eggs and buttermilk in a medium size mixing bowl, add the cornmeal mix and blend thoroughly. Remove the hot skillet from the oven, pour the hot drippings into the cornbread batter, then stir to quickly incorporate it. Pour the mix back into the skillet, and bake 15 to 20 minutes or until golden brown. Slather on all the butter you want and eat it while it's hot. You won't stop with one slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Anne Marie Sweden I grow up in south east Kentucky and my Grandma made corn bread this way eccept for the butter which we put on the hot cornbread after it was out of the oven. she lived till she was 101 years before she died, Yes some Hillbillies used bacon fat, but true country corn bread is made with just about any rendered fat on hand. Plus the flour was used from 1800 to now which made the corn bread lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shutter bug 1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This is great cornbread Jason! I hav not had such good cornbread since my mom passed away. I remember the first time I was served cornbread after moving to California. It was way sweet...I almost spit it out, but remembered my manners just in time. I don't know why people add sugar. Thanks for sharing. Nelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
i did not care for this recipes.....use the recipe on the back of Aunt Jemima Self-rising Buttermilk cornmeal mix, and add 1 cup of buttermilk,1/2 cup water,1 tbsp. butter and 1tsp. sugar and you will have delicious cornbread......can make in iron skillet or muffin pan....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mona Greer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
jason, thank you very much for a recipe w/out SUGAR. i have always left it out, cuz with sugar i call it johnnycake. thanks again, tab
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I've enjoyed making this a few times. It is better with 1/2 cup butter instead of 1 cup of butter. I may try it with less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrankS

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States