Real Southern Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This is great cornbread Jason! I hav not had such good cornbread since my mom passed away. I remember the first time I was served cornbread after moving to California. It was way sweet...I almost spit it out, but remembered my manners just in time. I don't know why people add sugar. Thanks for sharing. Nelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
i did not care for this recipes.....use the recipe on the back of Aunt Jemima Self-rising Buttermilk cornmeal mix, and add 1 cup of buttermilk,1/2 cup water,1 tbsp. butter and 1tsp. sugar and you will have delicious cornbread......can make in iron skillet or muffin pan....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mona Greer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
jason, thank you very much for a recipe w/out SUGAR. i have always left it out, cuz with sugar i call it johnnycake. thanks again, tab
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I've enjoyed making this a few times. It is better with 1/2 cup butter instead of 1 cup of butter. I may try it with less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrankS

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Perfet except for one thing....you forgot to put the cracklings in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Cook, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
very simple and very good! add some chopped pickled jalapenos for some added kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I do realize this was posted many years ago however, I want to say THANK YOU!!!!! for posting it. My mom has be gone for some time now and then my house burned down. I didnt think I would ever get to taste her bread again...God Bless you for this. ITS THE BEST EVER, now I get to make her homemade stuffing for Thanksgiving & Christmas. I cant wait to share it with my boyfriend and my girls.... Once again.... THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise W

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Fox Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I cut the recipe in half cause I really dont need that much for a family of 3. I love this recipe though. For years I have asked my mom how to make cornbread and she told me a little of this and a little of that (she never measures) so I couldnt get it right. This is almost like hers but I think a lil better. :p Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn Aileen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This corn bread, was just corn bread. The reviews made it sound "over the top" and it was not. It was good but nothing more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Whoever says this isn't traditional southern cornbread is crazy! This is the best cornbread recipe I've ever used. Everytime I make it someone asks me for the recipe. I am always asked to provide the cornbread for chili get togethers too. I use regular milk instead of buttermilk most of the time but either way is great. This cornbread is so moist you don't even have to use butter! Highly recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States