Real Southern Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Great recipe! Really similar to the cornbread my grandmother used to make. She had to alter her recipe in the 60's due to health reasons, and so she always made it with vegetable or corn oil instead of bacon fat. This makes a VERY large amount! I cut the recipe in half and still had enough to make Thanksgiving dressing. If you don't have an iron skillet, you can let the batter set up in the bowl for about 20 minutes, and preheat your greased baking pan in the oven for a few minutes prior to pouring in the batter. I personally don't like cornbread sweet for supper, but I DO put in about an 1/8 tsp just to counteract any slight bitterness the cornmeal may have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I thought this recipe was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
It did make a big pone! I am not sure which part of the South this is from and so to each his own. I am from Louisiana and the buttermilk taste was too strong for me. Gonna keep searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pineville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This is GREAT cornbread. NO Sugar, the way it is supposed to be. I always wonder who decided cornbread is a desert???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Excellent! I have to disagree with @ginrose 's review. Each region of the South has their own version of southern cornbread. My grandma came from Texas and this is very close to what she made only with bacon drippings because they were poor. I, myself, grew up with bacon drippings in cornbread and bisquits but would gag on it now. I use half butter and half canola oil. I also use a couple of TBLSP of sugar and so did Grandma....she had been making it from her Grandma's recipe since she was a little girl so I am not sure when the sugar was added to the recipe but Grandma's recipe is well over 100 yrs. old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe. I tweaked mine a little bit.. added in some fresh corn kernels and 1 extra egg and lowered the cooking temp by 5 degrees. OMG. THE FLAVOR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
loved this - we added scant cup of old cheddar cheese as well. like others mentioned - its important to just mix the cornmeal mixture and liquid in so its lumpy not over mixed. I make these in a stoneware and spray it with cooking spray and heat in the oven whilst it is warming then pour batter in when it is hot and the oven is heated. Muffins only take mins to cook and freeze beautifully - warm up in oven later for fresh cornbread without the effort great recipe also great if you add jalapeno's for variation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyskitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
WOW! After baking I realized that this recipe calls for no sugar. It is very spongy. But the flavor laggs. Thanks for the formula Jason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
True southern cornbread recipes may vary per family, but as far as I'm concerned this one was very well worth making and eating and there were no leftovers. The texture is great, and doesn't fall apart too much but isn't too cakey either. I added an extra tablespoon of oil to the batter itself, because I need the extra calories. It was still awesome. I'll add some bacon drippings next time, and maybe even a couple tablespoons of chopped jalapenos and cheddar for more of an entree style cornbread. I served it with a pot of pinto beans w/onion, and chopped pork rib meat. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This is sooooo good. This will be my go-to cornbread recipe. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States