Real Southern Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
I was so happy to find this recipe. The only one I had was my mother's but my husband and I always found it WAY too dry. This one is perfectly moist and not too sweet like most corncakes trying to pass as cornbread. It is a little bland, but has much more flavor than most. Be careful to watch it while it's on the stove. AS SOON as it starts bubbling, take it off. If it bubbles even just a little too long, you risk burning the bottom. If you half this recipe, it fits perfectly in a 10" pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Nichol Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
I have been looking for a moist cornbread recipe forever. This one was perfect! I quartered the recipe and used a 6 inch skillet, it was the perfect amount for 3 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
I was in a rush and threw this together. I made substitutions and mistakes, and it came out yummy and light as a feather. I halved all the ingredients, except the salt -- and baking powder? Oops. Substituted a milk/cottage cheese/sour cream concoction for the buttermilk. Subsituted spelt flour for the white flour and butter for the margarine. Substituted grapeseed oil (which won't break down at high heat) for the corn oil. Otherwise I followed directions! Will try it again with bonafide buttermilk and right amount of baking powder. Should be better than ever. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
This recipe did not work well for me at all. I ended up leaving it in the oven over an hour (the recipe said 40 min)and it was still very undercooked inside although the crust was hard. I was very disappointed after all the good reviews I read when I first decided to try it. I had to find another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Gayle Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tiffin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
Are you my Southern Grandma is disguise? I have been searching (without success) for years since losing my dear grandma for a recipe for her delicious cornbread. Thanks to you I got it! Californians don't know how to make real southern unsweetened cornbread! I will treasure this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
The crust formed by following this recipe is fantastic. Still, this is not The One. Needs more salt, I think. I cut the recipe in half and cooked/baked in an 8x8 pan and that was just the right size for about 6 very large servings or 9 regular size servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
I don't have a cast iron skillet so I used a stainless steel one instead and it came out great. Really moist and good for people who don't care for sweet cornbread. great with chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
MELT IN YOU MOUTH, I SAID!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
If you're looking for a really good cornbread recipe, don't overlook this one. Half the recipe bakes beautifully in a 10" skillet. I confess I did add 2 tablespoons of sugar to half the recipe (my personal preference), substituted unsalted butter for the margarine, and doubled the salt. Also important to stir wet ingredients into dry only until moistened. A somewhat lumpy consistency is okay. Don't overmix if you want the bread to be tender. A well-seasoned cast iron skillet is a must for this recipe. Preheat as directed and use a generous amount of oil to prevent sticking -- enough to have a slight puddle in the bottom before the batter is poured in. Also helps to sprinkle some cornmeal over the oil. The batter should sizzle and sort of "fry" when poured in. This recipe is very moist, tender, and flavorful when properly prepared. Perfect with purple hull peas, turnip greens, and other traditional southern favorites. Thanks, Jason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
Works well in the oven as well. Easy, even for a neophyte cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States