Real Poutine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
After putting the cheese curds on the fries, put them in the oven for a short time under the broiler. This melts the curds a bit. Then put the gravy on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NipsyLinz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I've been doing this for years now. I make homemade fries with my mandolin chopper, then I make the gravy from a package mix. I use turkey gravy to make it rich. And I grate up mozzarella or cheddar. Fries get covered in cheese then I put on the warm gravy and microwave for 45 seconds to melt the cheese and make it gooey. Family favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D Schramm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
actually, i give it a 3.5 rating. it was pretty good, but something felt missing. maybe for my own personal taste i would need to add meat to it. but i did like the way the gravy soaked into the fries and how the cheese melted. i used grated cheese instead of cheese curds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
If you're going to go to the trouble to make your own fries, you may as well melt some butter in a saucepan, add a little flour, combine it well and whisk in some beef stock to make your own gravy. Much better, I feel, than a canned gravy. Otherwise, very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This recipe is AMAZING! I loved it and you will too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I made the recipe vegan by using plain gravy with earth balance and tapioca starch cheese. I am a Canadian and have never had better poutine at a restaurant(wasn't vegan until age 12)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This is exactly how I make my americanized version of this delicious food! :) YUM! When I am missing Canada, this is a treat. Also, you can usually find cheese curds in the specialty cheeses in the grocery store (in the midwest USA at least.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyturk

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Highland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
BEST POUTINE EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You better try this awesome recipe!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I'm from Québec where poutine was invented, so if you don't like it here, you're like an alien... I've finally found my kind of poutine, MY way - try this: FRIES, OKA CHEESE AND PEPPER SAUCE (canned from St-Hubert is the best for this if you can find it) This way I love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Trust me when I say this, if you substitute any kind of cheese in place of the cheese curds, you will not get the same result. Poutine is only poutine when it is loaded with cheese curds. If you made this with a substitute, try it again with curds and you will be amazed at the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GorJos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Real Poutine

See how to make French fries and cheese smothered in flavorful gravy.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States