Real Potato Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Very easy and hearty recipe! I added 1 large carrot [shredded] and some bacon bits as well. I used light cream instead of milk, but I think this recipe could go without the milk altogether ... Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzieD
Home Town: Orono, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
It was okay, nothing exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I followed this recipe but sort of did my own thing and it was delicious 2 bunches of leeks sauteed in pot with 3 TBS butter salt and pepper after 25 mins of sauteeing, then blend till creamy. 4 cups water with boullion chicken base mixed in 8 small-med red potatos boiled , used half to puree and half to add to soup also added 4 cloves garlic, 4 tbsp parsley flakes IT was really delicious thanks to all the leeks I added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I made this soup today. It was delicious! I made a few changes. I used caribow broth instead of chicken. (We live in Alaska so we have access to moose and reindeer ). When i sauted the leeks I added a clove of garlic and a couple of chopped up reindeer hot dogs for flavor. I mashed potatoes in the pot with a hand masher to make it chunky. And instead of adding milk to the pot I added some into my bowl individually. My husband doesn't like milk. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This recipe sounded good, but came out extremely liquidy and not very creamy. I didn't want to blend the soup so I tried mashing some of the potatoes to increase the consistency to no avail. It also lacked flavor. I added various spices and even tried adding cheddar cheese to the soup and it still lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cabool, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I cut the amount of broth to 3 cups, substituted light cream for the milk and put the whole mixture in the blender on "puree" for approximately 15 seconds- subtle yet flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Good recipe but not very flavourful. I tried like hell to give it a kick but short of tobasco sauce [which I didn't think would be such a good idea] the soup rejected my attempts! Oh well, the boyfriend liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgeanne Louise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Very tasty. I put the whole leek in there which made it greener and chewier but very good. Also mixed in some bacon bits. Makes a LOT of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefasheroo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Delicious and easy to make. Dressy enough for company. I love the subtle leek and potato flavors. Hearty yet elegant. I whisked in a bit of sour cream upon serving--tastes great--but fine without. You can cut down on the liquids as you like to make a thicker or thinner broth. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beecee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This soup was really, really delicious! I made it for St. Patrick's Day and everyone loved it. This one's definitely going into my permanent recipe files -- AWESOME! Thanks for posting it, Ashley! :)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindseyluna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States