Real Potato Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
A nice and simple recipe for my first soup. I've never made my own soup before but this was a fairly easy recipe to follow. I halved the amount of everything and it still turned out to be a lot. Oh, I added some chopped mushrooms as well. I wish I had bacon to add, because it seemed like it would have added a lot of flavor to this simple soup, but it was still yummy and I'm glad I tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Fabulous! I used also a little ham from the leftover bone I had in the freezer, sauteed the leeks and garlic before adding the chicken broth and potatoes..whisked it up a bit to thicken it and added a cup of light cream. Wow! The kids put shredded cheese on top and ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allaboutus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
pretty bland tasting soup. I used salt free chicken broth instead of the regular. Added a bay leaf (to increase the tasty) , non fat milk to lower the fat content...I may have made this soup bland by not completely following the instructions, but yea...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Great potato soup. It tastes better if you blend the entire soup so the leeks and potatoes blend right into the soup. It also thickens it up. Top with freshly shredded parmesan cheese!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This was really good, basic, cheap soup to make. I did add some whipping cream and chopped ham to flavor it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
really good! Careful with the salt because chicken broth is so salty. Add more milk. Flavor is great!! Love the potato-leek combo!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe once I jazzed it up a bit. It was pretty bland to me. I cut the potatoes to bite sized pieces and left the skins on. It took less time to cook that way. I used heavy whipping cream instead of milk. I added potato flakes to thicken. I added bacon. I added garlic salt and a Pampered Chef blend of garlic and crushed peppercorn. VERY flavorful, VERY rich soup. Family loved it with homemade potato bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Very tasty! I reduced the chicken broth to 4 cups and seasoned to taste with salt, pepper, parsley and nutmeg. It was delish this way, but I will make it again and try adding some ham or bacon. Yummy in my tummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pattycakes Carnes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Excellent soup and it warms over well for leftovers! I used leeks and regular onion and also added large ham chunks! A great soup for a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doxiemom4evr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Oneida, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I have to say that I had every intention of following this recipe to the absolute letter, I couldn't do it. It wasn't because I have to change everything or didn't want too. It was because I didn't have enough leeks and didn't want to go to the store, lol! The orginal recipe looked quite yummy. I only had 1 leek so I used that along with a stalk of celery and a snack bag of carrots. I sauteed them altogether in the butter and used heavy whipping cream instead of milk. I also diced up thick cut bacon and made bits. I served that FANTASTIC soup with the bacon bits and shredded cheese and drop bisquits! Thank you for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States