Real Potato Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Definetly a simple good soup. I added bacon the first time I made it, the second time I added clams and bacon. It was good both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Umatilla, Oregon, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This was pretty tasty. I like a "thicker" soup and it was a little thin. That was my only complaint. One thing I did different was I sauteed chopped up bacon with the leeks. It gave the soup a little bit of smokey flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Mitchell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by jamcd
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Excellent recipe, instead of using salt and pepper to season. I used seasoning salt and chicken base. Will definetely make this one again. Hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamcd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Amazingly simple, yet delicious. The were were a couple slight modifications. Red potatoes were peeled and cubed, then cooked. Leeks were cooked with the butter, a teaspoon of olive oil to keep from burning, and one clove of garlic, crushed. Milk was left out and available for each person to add as desired. Since I cannot have milk, I just left it out of my bowl and flavor was still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Fantastic recipe - the closest I've come to the amazing soup I remember from the Coffee House and Tea Room in St. Andrews, Scotland, where I often had this soup as my lunch. Did as the suggestion offered, and added the crumbled bacon, also sauteeing my leeks and added fresh mushrooms in the bacon leavings - but making sure the leeks were still a bit crisp. Boiled the potatoes, leeks, and mushrooms in the broth for about twenty-five minutes (with the bacon crumbles) and then after adding the milk and portioning out the soup, sprinkled a bit of shredded extra sharp cheddar cheese and some asiago over top. Soup needs very little seasoning (seasoned the leeks and mushrooms with a bit of garlic, cumin, and pepper) and is tasty and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I've followed a few potato leek soup recipes, but i think this one is a favorite. I did make a few changes. I sauteed three chopped leek bunches in butter and garlic for about 5 minutes before adding the broth and peeled russet potatoes. While the potatoes were boiling, I melted butter and flour in a separate pan before adding milk to thicken it. I then added the milk mixture to the soup and let continue to cook. I then "hand mashed" the soup (I usually use a hand blender) and the soup came out perfect! Soup is hearty and tasty! Great for a cold rainy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
To increase nutritional value, don't peel potatoes. Chop then boil directly in chicken broth. You're peeling off most of the vitamins and pouring the rest down the sink with the water otherwise! I used yukon gold potatoes and boiled in a "gourmet" box of chicken broth that had white wine and thyme in it (College Inn was the brand name). We topped it with a bit of mozzarella/provolone cheese when we served it. Yowza! So simple and so amazingly good!! My six year old loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Way too thick and pasty...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Peeling the hot potatoes proved difficult. The soup was a bit on the bland side, but I suppose easily adapted with some more seasonings if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohsherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I LOVED this soup, although I made a few adjustments to the recipe. I cooked the potatoes in the chicken broth, and left the skins on the potatoes. When it was cooked I blended the soup and added about 1/4 cup of flour so it would be a bit thicker. It made a lot of soup and only lasted 2 days! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States