Real Potato Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Really good and easy! I used ramp (wild leeks) and half of the broth was vegetable stock I had 'left-over' from another recipe...Garnished with bacon, scallions, and cheese. YUM! Thanks Ashley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somers, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Simple delicious and buttery in flavor. Use while milk if you can to really get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I used a couple different kinds of potatoes cause that's what I had, but this was amazing! This was my first time making potato soup and I've never had leeks so I was a little weary, but so worth it!! I added bacon bits which only made this better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This is one of my favorite soups. Even my four and five year old eat it. I follow the recipe as listed and it tastes fantastic, I sometimes add a little white wine when I have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam Davison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
We love this soup! I make it with a few changes though... I like the flavor of the skin (plus it's added nutrients) so I chop the potatoes to bite size pieces and go ahead boil them in the chicken or veggie stock until they're tender. I then add the sauteed leeks. I also add fresh garlic and a bit of cayenne pepper for a little kick plus whatever other spices I'm in the mood for. I also think it's best to let people add the milk themselves once served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I just made this and it was delicious. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Don't know what went wrong here but it was pretty watery with not a lot of taste even though I added a couple of minced garlic cloves and small minced onion. Will pick up some Yukon gold tomorrow and puree it into the soup to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Great soup lots of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
My husband is a picky eater but he loved this soup! We added a pinch of tumeric to it, because it's his favourite spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Strathclair, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Very yummy! For a one pot variation, cook your potatoes in a 3-4 qt stock pot, remove them and drain. Then cook some bacon in the same pot until crispy, remove the bacon and some of the grease. Add butter and leeks, then broth and potatoes. Put crumbled bacon on top when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Morin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States