Real Potato Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I just made this and it was delicious. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Don't know what went wrong here but it was pretty watery with not a lot of taste even though I added a couple of minced garlic cloves and small minced onion. Will pick up some Yukon gold tomorrow and puree it into the soup to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Great soup lots of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
My husband is a picky eater but he loved this soup! We added a pinch of tumeric to it, because it's his favourite spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Strathclair, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Very yummy! For a one pot variation, cook your potatoes in a 3-4 qt stock pot, remove them and drain. Then cook some bacon in the same pot until crispy, remove the bacon and some of the grease. Add butter and leeks, then broth and potatoes. Put crumbled bacon on top when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pmorin217

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Definetly a simple good soup. I added bacon the first time I made it, the second time I added clams and bacon. It was good both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Umatilla, Oregon, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This was pretty tasty. I like a "thicker" soup and it was a little thin. That was my only complaint. One thing I did different was I sauteed chopped up bacon with the leeks. It gave the soup a little bit of smokey flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 911boxer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by jamcd
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Excellent recipe, instead of using salt and pepper to season. I used seasoning salt and chicken base. Will definetely make this one again. Hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamcd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Amazingly simple, yet delicious. The were were a couple slight modifications. Red potatoes were peeled and cubed, then cooked. Leeks were cooked with the butter, a teaspoon of olive oil to keep from burning, and one clove of garlic, crushed. Milk was left out and available for each person to add as desired. Since I cannot have milk, I just left it out of my bowl and flavor was still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Fantastic recipe - the closest I've come to the amazing soup I remember from the Coffee House and Tea Room in St. Andrews, Scotland, where I often had this soup as my lunch. Did as the suggestion offered, and added the crumbled bacon, also sauteeing my leeks and added fresh mushrooms in the bacon leavings - but making sure the leeks were still a bit crisp. Boiled the potatoes, leeks, and mushrooms in the broth for about twenty-five minutes (with the bacon crumbles) and then after adding the milk and portioning out the soup, sprinkled a bit of shredded extra sharp cheddar cheese and some asiago over top. Soup needs very little seasoning (seasoned the leeks and mushrooms with a bit of garlic, cumin, and pepper) and is tasty and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States