Real Potato Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
Very tasty. Unfortunately my kids didn't appreciate it as much. My husband loved it and so did I. Hit the spot on a cold, winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
Very easy to make. Mild tasting! My husband and I absolutely loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
This was the first time I tried leeks, it was awesome!The leeks also had a buttery taste to the soup. I found this easy to prepare and it went fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
Very simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2001
This soup is SO SO good! I loved it, my husband loved it, and even my one year old daughter gobbled it down. It's definitely one to keep on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
I added a cut up ham steak and one of the cans of broth I used was garlic-flavored. It added a lot of flavor. I'd recommend adding garlic either when you saute the leeks or using garlic broth for extra flavor. Excellent soup, and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
Very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Lerandia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bandera, Texas, USA
Living In: North Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Awesome flavor and texture. This doesn't need fancy spices and a lot of complicated steps; it's easy and delicious. However, if you want to add extra spices, I found that mustard powder, garlic, and/or a sprinkle of nutmeg worked well with the potato and leek flavors. We also ate it with a toasted piece of sourdough bread (yum!) I'd also suggest adding the milk directly into the bowl. That way each person can control the soup's consistency to their preference, and I didn't have to worry that the soup had milk in it that might spoil if I left it out for a couple hours or if it took more than a week to finish (which it did). I think we used more potatoes than were called for; we didn't have red potatoes so we had to guess but we used up the last of our baking potatoes (6 of them). It made enough for 2 people to eat for a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This soup was really, really delicious! I made it for St. Patrick's Day and everyone loved it. This one's definitely going into my permanent recipe files -- AWESOME! Thanks for posting it, Ashley! :)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindseyluna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Delicious and easy to make. Dressy enough for company. I love the subtle leek and potato flavors. Hearty yet elegant. I whisked in a bit of sour cream upon serving--tastes great--but fine without. You can cut down on the liquids as you like to make a thicker or thinner broth. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beecee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States