Real Potato Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I made this soup today. It was delicious! I made a few changes. I used caribow broth instead of chicken. (We live in Alaska so we have access to moose and reindeer ). When i sauted the leeks I added a clove of garlic and a couple of chopped up reindeer hot dogs for flavor. I mashed potatoes in the pot with a hand masher to make it chunky. And instead of adding milk to the pot I added some into my bowl individually. My husband doesn't like milk. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This recipe sounded good, but came out extremely liquidy and not very creamy. I didn't want to blend the soup so I tried mashing some of the potatoes to increase the consistency to no avail. It also lacked flavor. I added various spices and even tried adding cheddar cheese to the soup and it still lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cabool, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I cut the amount of broth to 3 cups, substituted light cream for the milk and put the whole mixture in the blender on "puree" for approximately 15 seconds- subtle yet flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Good recipe but not very flavourful. I tried like hell to give it a kick but short of tobasco sauce [which I didn't think would be such a good idea] the soup rejected my attempts! Oh well, the boyfriend liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgeanne Louise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Very tasty. I put the whole leek in there which made it greener and chewier but very good. Also mixed in some bacon bits. Makes a LOT of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefasheroo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Delicious and easy to make. Dressy enough for company. I love the subtle leek and potato flavors. Hearty yet elegant. I whisked in a bit of sour cream upon serving--tastes great--but fine without. You can cut down on the liquids as you like to make a thicker or thinner broth. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beecee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This soup was really, really delicious! I made it for St. Patrick's Day and everyone loved it. This one's definitely going into my permanent recipe files -- AWESOME! Thanks for posting it, Ashley! :)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindseyluna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Delicious. I used less potatoes and kept it (relatively) healthy by using 1% milk instead of something heavier. Will definitely make again. I wouldn't serve this with meat or something heavy - keep it light with a salad and some crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
so....my boyfriend think it deserves 3 stars instead.... he thinks it lacks spices....and wants to add a tsp of sour cream and bacon bits- per each bowl. thats him. but for me..... i made it without much milk at all....just a bit at the end. i used a bit of chardonay in the broth....and i used 4 leeks- i love leeks. overall i really dug this soup, and ill totally make more. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceyjean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALIGHTCOMINGON
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I boiled peeled and cubed yukon gold potatoes in the chicken broth enhanced with garlic instead of using smaller potatoes and extra steps. The soup made a very filling meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIGHTCOMINGON

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States