Real Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This pie is delicious! The only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is because it doesn't make a very full pie. I used a 9in shallow pie plate (as suggested by another reviewer) and it still didn't fill my crust. Next time I make it I will double the recipe and try it in a deep dish crust. Otherwise it was absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barefootpixie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Well, I'm doing something I always thought I wouldn't - tell everyone of the adjustments I made! Ha! We ended up with a really great pie with a few changes. It is the two eggs that give it that soft texture, but you only really need one. Also, I cut the sugar down to only 1/4 cup. The corn syrup is plenty sweet on its own. Your teeth don't curl up from the sweet that way. It was still plenty sweet. I also used WHITE Karo syrup, effectively making a vanilla pecan pie. It was GREAT! Last change that anyone can do to any pecan pie recipe they choose to use: CHOP the pecans. I always had had the mindset that the pecans had to be whole to look pretty. They don't. I added 1-1/2 cups CHOPPED pecans (and a little extra) for a positively great pie that is now my daughter's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyFanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
made this for Thanksgiving, it was wonderful !! Although my pie pan was too deep, had to transfer my crust into a pie pan that was shallow and smaller, would do great in a shallow 9 inch or full 8 inch pan. Loved how gooey and not dry or too firm this turned out, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mastic, New York, USA
Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This is the same recipe that I have been using for over 20 years. Just as everyone has said this recipe only makes half a pie, my recipe says at the top (double recipe to fill pie pan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
i doubled the filling and accidentally added an extra half cup of pecans. this is a gorgeous pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2002
This pie was easy to make. No chopping involved--nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
This was perfect! I wouldn't change a thing. My husband absolutely raved. I will make this recipe again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
This was the first time my husband and I had ever made pecan pie. It turned out very well. We had been looking for a good pecan pie at restaurants and had been unsuccessful. Now we don't need to go out because we can make this recipe in a snap! It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Absolute soup...disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nellie Fiorenzi
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
i have been making pies for several years now and for some reason had never made a peacan pie. this is the recipe i will use from here on out though! perfect just as it is! wouldn't change a thing! delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nellie Fiorenzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Herrin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States