Real Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This pie is delicious! The only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is because it doesn't make a very full pie. I used a 9in shallow pie plate (as suggested by another reviewer) and it still didn't fill my crust. Next time I make it I will double the recipe and try it in a deep dish crust. Otherwise it was absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barefootpixie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Well, I'm doing something I always thought I wouldn't - tell everyone of the adjustments I made! Ha! We ended up with a really great pie with a few changes. It is the two eggs that give it that soft texture, but you only really need one. Also, I cut the sugar down to only 1/4 cup. The corn syrup is plenty sweet on its own. Your teeth don't curl up from the sweet that way. It was still plenty sweet. I also used WHITE Karo syrup, effectively making a vanilla pecan pie. It was GREAT! Last change that anyone can do to any pecan pie recipe they choose to use: CHOP the pecans. I always had had the mindset that the pecans had to be whole to look pretty. They don't. I added 1-1/2 cups CHOPPED pecans (and a little extra) for a positively great pie that is now my daughter's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyFanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
made this for Thanksgiving, it was wonderful !! Although my pie pan was too deep, had to transfer my crust into a pie pan that was shallow and smaller, would do great in a shallow 9 inch or full 8 inch pan. Loved how gooey and not dry or too firm this turned out, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mastic, New York, USA
Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This is the same recipe that I have been using for over 20 years. Just as everyone has said this recipe only makes half a pie, my recipe says at the top (double recipe to fill pie pan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
i doubled the filling and accidentally added an extra half cup of pecans. this is a gorgeous pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2002
This pie was easy to make. No chopping involved--nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
This was perfect! I wouldn't change a thing. My husband absolutely raved. I will make this recipe again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
This was the first time my husband and I had ever made pecan pie. It turned out very well. We had been looking for a good pecan pie at restaurants and had been unsuccessful. Now we don't need to go out because we can make this recipe in a snap! It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Absolute soup...disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nellie Fiorenzi
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
i have been making pies for several years now and for some reason had never made a peacan pie. this is the recipe i will use from here on out though! perfect just as it is! wouldn't change a thing! delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nellie Fiorenzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Herrin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States