Real NY Jewish Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I am a novice regarding breads but I tried it and I came out pretty good except-----it crumbles, really easily. Does the length of time it takes to rise effect the way the bread holds together? when I put it aside to rise I turn on the under cabinet lights to help it along and it actually rises fairly quickly. So while it tastes really good it falls apart. Any help anyone could give me would be great. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kancunkid
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
The first time I tried this I did everything by hand. I live in a small town in the far south of Mexico and am an hour and a half from the closest grocery store. I had to substitute light rye flour someone brought me from the States and brown sugar but luckily I make my own dill pickles so I had the juice. It came out good. In the mean time someone gave me a kitchen aid stand mixer and I used it the second time and the bread came out superb!!! I added about half a tablespoon more caraway seeds and used a coffee grinder on half of them and left the other half whole to give it a stronger caraway flavor. The first loaf was done in a smaller bread pan and this loaf was done in the recipes suggested 5 x 9 pan. Made quite a difference. Made Rubens that were to die for. The hardest part was finding sauerkraut and corned beef. Thanks for the recipe since in 16 years in Mexico I have only seen rye bread twice and both times I got my hopes up and was sorely disappointed. Keep em commin Dad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This worked very well in my bread machine! As I could not find potato flakes, I left them out. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I would use less, maybe half, caraway seed next time for our preference. Other than that it turned out really good even though I had to use a couple of tweaks. I didn't have potato flakes so left them out and then needed more flour, about 1/4 cup rye and another 1/4-1/2 cup total of bread flour and white whole wheat. I kept adding tablespoons until I ran out and then had to use a little white whole wheat to finish so I'm not sure of the exact amount. Very nice texture for sandwiches, soft but sturdy. I free formed the loaf and mine rose in about half the time for each rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by katewackerle
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Really great recipe! Was looking for a good "New York Jewish Deli - Rye Bread" recipe for my brother's father-in-law, and this hit the mark perfectly! I had a hard time finding sour pickles, but found an old style deli near me that had a pickle bar and they were more than happy to help me by adding a little more sour pickle juice to my pickle order! I used a hi-gluten flour - great texture. I also used the bread machine for the first kneed/rise and had no issues. I prefer not to bake the bread in the in the machine, and it the recipe worked really well to do it 50/50 like I did. Next time I make it, I'm going to try and cook it a few minutes longer just to get a little more crust on it (not that it was bad by any means this time). I am also curious to see how it turns out not cooking it in a loaf pan. Try this recipe - it was really wonderful and the bread is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Made this today for the first time and it turned out beautifully! I substituted 2 Tbsp. of Vital Wheat Gluten for the potato flakes and put everything in the bread machine, setting it for the whole grain dough cycle. I then shaped the dough into a round, let it rise a second time, and baked according to the recipe. My guests said it was outstanding...far better than any commercially made rye bread they'd ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I live in an area of NY that is blessed with both Jewish delis and bakeries and this bread would be right at home in either. I free formed my loaf and baked it on my pizza stone. This recipe is a keeper. Thanks for sharing, Dad! 3/18/14 the potato flakes aren't strictly necessary, especially if you use bread flour rather than AP. It simply adds gluten to the recipe, making for a nice rise. Vital wheat gluten would also work. And the pickle juice doesn't have to be a specific type. I used the juice from a jar of bread and butter pickles, I have also used both white and cider vinegar. It only imparts the slightest of taste and is primarily used as a dough conditioner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I followed another reviewer and omitted the potato flakes and reduced the water by 1/4 c. Used pickle juice from Vlasic Reduced Sodium Stackers but next time I'll try Zesty Dills. Used brown sugar. This turned out perfectly. The dough was just wonderful to work with. I baked it in 2 half-loaves for just the two of us, freezing one. Baked them for 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This recipe is hands-down, the best recipe for rye bread I have encountered. I have successfully made it in the bread machine, using either the full loaf cycle, or the dough cycle and finishing it off the second rising in a loaf pan then baking it in the oven. It is perfect as written but sometimes I add 1 heaping tsp. of grainy mustard to enhance the flavor. To change things up I've also substituted demerara sugar with organic barley malt syrup, which is commonly used by bread bakers. Thanks for a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
My husband, who usually only likes the cheap cracked wheat store bread absolutely loved this recipe. I thought it was delicious, also. Next time will try with dill seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanieT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenfield, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States