Real NY Jewish Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by elf
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
This is top dog! fab recipe, bread has a lovely taste and cuts well...can't wait to try it with pastrami, mayo mixed with a little mustard and a bread and butter pickle...a fab open sandwich. great tip frpm another poster, if you don't have potato flakes leave them out and reduce water by 1/4 cup. Thanks for that...will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Fabulous recipe. Beautiful bread, it was easy to follow and turned out wonderfully. I made a few small tweaks, nothing too major. Absolutely must try this, even my non rye eating friends liked this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Hughes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Easy and delicious!! Great bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This is my first loaf of rye and I'm a novice bread baker. Taste is excellent, nice crumb, crunchy but soft crust. Indeed better than any you can buy. I did add 1 tsp of diastatic malt powder, 1/2c high fiber flour blend (both from King Arthur flour) in place of 1/2c bread flour and I also added 1 tsp mustard powder. It did rise but not as much as I hoped. Still great sliced for sandwiches. Right now I'm enjoying it with pastrami! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Efendi0822

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quantico, Virginia, USA
Living In: Salinas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Absolutely fantastic! Potato flakes give the bread a moist crumb, and pickle juice just augments the rye sour beautifully! Loads of flavor! I made mine swapping molasses for the sugar and it was flat-out perfect! I've made lots of rye bread, this one is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Fay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This was the first loaf of bread I have made in my life. I am an American living in Amsterdam and I so miss NY Jewish Rye. I followed the recipe almost exact (my timings were a bit different) since it was my first loaf. It is delicious! My most honest critic is my husband. He came home, took one bite and said "EXCELLENT!" Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Amstelveen, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This was quite good. I used white vinegar rather than pickle juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by killthebananas
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This was my first time making my own rye bread. The dough didn't react as I've grown accustomed to bread dough reacting. It was very dense, and didn't rise much. But it turned out very well in the end. Dare I say this is the perfect rye bread? The "rye" flavor is intense, and that is just the way I like it. I made a few substitutions: I didn't have pickle juice, so I sub'd apple cider vinegar, and didn't have potato flakes, so sub'd gluten, and didn't have oil, so sub'd butter (equal parts for all). To make up for the lack of pickle juice, I threw in a pinch of dill seeds with the caraway. I let my bread machine take care of the dough cycle. I shaped it and let it rise on the counter for 1 hour, then baked at 350 for 35 minutes. It didn't rise much more when it was on the counter (I was getting nervous at this point!), but the loaf really fluffed up in the oven. It turned out just as I was hoping. Just as good, if not better than the rye bread I get from my local bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Frank Barnett
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Followed the recipe pretty close. I stirred the yeast in the water with a fork and then dipped the fork in sugar and used that to stir again, which was plenty to feed the yeast. I also used brown sugar instead of demerara sugar, which I never heard of before, but intend to look for it soon. Instead of the bread pan, I used a round Brotform basket to give it an Artisan look and baked it on a preheated pizza stone. The result was a nice looking loaf of wonderful tasting rye bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank Barnett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I made this in my bread machine! It was still great! The best I ever had! I can't say enough! Yummmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda McCurrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States