Real N'awlins Muffuletta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
Boo, baby, ya done good. This is the best olive salad recipe I['ve ever seen (and I live in N.O. where I can buy the real deal.) The reviewer who said she adds mustard -- well, honey, don't come to New Orleans and do that, people will be appalled. My ONLY criticism -- we never, EVER say "N'Awlins" here!!! Noo Awlins, New Orlins, New Or-le-unz, yes, the Crescent City, okay, but never that silly Frank Davis "Nat'rally Nawlins" contraction. I give this recipe five fleur-de-lis's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Outstanding recipe! It made way more than 8 servings. Everyone wanted the recipe. My only negative is that it was a little salty with all the olives and lunch meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Definitely a keeper! I didn't have all the ingredients such as onions and celery salt but even without these ingredients, it was excellent. Even my husband said that the Olive Salad made a plain sub sandwich taste extraordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Gurnee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
This sandwich was the best!! I haven't had a muffuletta in (many) years and as soon as I tasted this it took me back - it was a nice memory. I made them for my Mardi Gras party and I had a few guests that have been to New Orleans and they said it was "right on". Thanks so much for this recipe it really is the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Wow!! I cannot say enough about how great this sandwich is! Chopping a lot of the relish ingredients in the food processor (as someone else suggested) sure was a time saver. I toned the spices down a lot because I don't like hot things - reduced the black pepper to 1/4 tsp., and omitted the pepperoncini peppers. I don't like onion after-taste, so I left off the onions, too. I reduced the amount of oil a ton - used only 1/4 cup olive oil, and omitted the canola oil entirely. I lightly basted the bread with olive oil, then spread on the olive relish. It was wonderful! Thanks so much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
Wow...almost as good as Napoleon House !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
Excellent sandwich!! Love the olive salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
I made this for a Superbowl party and it was a hit. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLR71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
This is so good! I only used 1/2 cup of olive oil in the olive salad because the amount called for seemed so decadent, but it was great anyway. The recipe didn't mention it, but I diced the olive salad ingredients, since the muffuletta I had previously was made that way. Also, I used the celery and carrot that came in the pickled cauliflower bottle instead of fresh. Genoa salami is much better than the less expensive versions. I don't think I will ever get tired of this sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
Yum! Great addition to our Superbowl buffet. I omitted the pearl onions and instead, added sliced red onion. I couldn't find mortadella so I left that out as well. I didn't want soggy leftovers so I put the meats on the bread and put the salad in between the meat and the cheese. We thought it was even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Real N’awlins Muffuletta

A classic New Orleans sandwich piled with deli meats, cheese, and olive dressing.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Real Poutine

See how to make French fries and cheese smothered in flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States