Real N'awlins Muffuletta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
My mom made these for a tail gate party and they were AMAZING! There is absolutely no need to change this recipe. Even my very picky husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CariMel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
I'm not much of a recipe follower when it comes to cooking (I like to improvise a lot), but this one looked too perfect to change. I followed the recipe exactly a few weeks ago and my dad is STILL raving about it! Next time I might leave out the capers as I don't remember them being in the muffulettas we used to get in the French Quarter, but otherwise perfection! This is the real deal. The hardest part is wrapping them up and letting them sit overnight, but the wait is worth it -- they're SO much better the second day. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This was I big hit at the family picnic. I used only olive oil, and substitute 1/2 a fresh onion for the cocktail onions. I also left out the cauliflower, celery and carrot. Will defiantly make aging.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Not for the faint of heart! I didn't have the cauliflower, and only had hard salami, ham and provolone, but the olive salad flavors were spectacular! We couldn't believe we ate the whole thing -- I think my husband is afraid I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
If you ever wondered what a authentic muffuletta is all about, this is it. Best olive mix ever. Great on any kind of sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I made this with the bread recipe and it was a hit with the 27 people I served it to. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This olive salad is PERFECT for the muffuletta sandwich! We had these from Central Grocery on our honeymoon, and I was trying to recreate as an anniversary present. I ommitted the cauliflower, carrots, celery seed and canola oil. I found a bakery here that makes muffuletta bread and went to a good deli to get salami, coppa, and provolone. The sandwich was so good I could hear the blues and smell the gulf! Tip: don't be temped to skimp on the amount of olive oil. Part of the beauty of the sandwich is the olive salad soaking into the dense bread to make it moist. If you haven't tried this yet... you should!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzieBearCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Made exactly as per recipe except I only had 6 hours to marinate the ingredients. It was good but I thought the olive salad overpowered the taste of the rest of the sandwich as did the friend who shared it with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
This was a really big hit at our last party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
Yummy! I made a number of changes to help make this a little more healthy, but the seasonings make the spread! Vary tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Williamsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Real N’awlins Muffuletta

A classic New Orleans sandwich piled with deli meats, cheese, and olive dressing.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Real Poutine

See how to make French fries and cheese smothered in flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States