Real N'awlins Muffuletta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
The real trick is getting good bread. Foccaccia bread works really well for soaking up the oil from the olive salad. I doubled the olive oil in the salad, added some roasted red pepper and halfed the amount of meat/cheese, it was excellent! One recommendation would be to used toothpicks to keep the sliced sandwich pieces together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbaleelou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
WOW!!! Almost took me back to central grocery. Very good, I just know there a little something different that I need to do, just not sure what
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANDIKUNZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Simply outstanding. Great for a college football tailgate party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todd Gustke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I can't give it 5 stars. I really wanted 3 1/2, but it doesn't give that as an option. I used all the ingredients except the pickled cauliflower. I couldn't find it. I used a round sourdough bread and even though I dug out as much bread as I could, it still didn't work. The olive salad was great, but I too thought there was too much meat in it it. I think w/ some tweaking for our tastes, I might try it again sometime down the road.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Very good. I would say this has 10 large servings or 20 small servings. It cost me about $40 to buy the ingredients. Worth the cost considering how much is makes. Very good sandwich. Nice change from the normal tailgating foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Awesome, easy, huge Party food! I followed the directions to a T - except for the celery seed. I brought this to super bowl and most made fun of the name 8 - ) Once they tasted it everyone asked what resteraunt it was from. I made the olive relish a day before, put the sandwiches together around 10am, wrapped them in plastic wrap for around 4 to 5 hours before serving. Left overs were great the next day! These were a little pricey to make if you use good meat and cheese but well worth it considering how many people they will feed plus the quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by secretsmile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Wow! I made this for our Superbowl Party and everyone raved. I made lots of changes to the olive salad; used an olive spread,omitted the pepperoncini, onions and canola oil. I did make the olive salad the night before. I assembled the sandwich in the morning, using black forest ham, Genoa salami, and capicola, mozzarella and provolone. I did mirror layers on each half of the bread. Then I put the halves together and wrapped it in plastic wrap. I refrigerated it with a weight on top to really compress the slices of meat and cheese. When it was cut, each piece had beautiful layers of meat and cheese and olive salad. It was delicious. The next time I make it I will add a center layer of roasted red pepper. Thank you for a great sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I can't say enough about this recipe. Most of my co-workers have gourmet palates and they really love this sandwhich. I use the french "miche" bread from Panera when making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real N’awlins Muffuletta

A classic New Orleans sandwich piled with deli meats, cheese, and olive dressing.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Real Poutine

See how to make French fries and cheese smothered in flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States