Real N'awlins Muffuletta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I come back to this recipe again and again - always a crowd-pleaser. The only trouble I have is finding it - the second "U" in the title means this doesn't come up when searched! The olive salad is amazing, even to people who don't like olives. It's also very flexible -- don't NOT make it because you don't have a few of the items. And be sure to include the celery and carrots - tho a small amount that little crunch makes all of the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Too much oil. Cut the oil in 1/2 and was plenty. Otherwise made just as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Pretty good! I'm not a fan of olives (especially Kalamatas), but this wasn't bad at all. I wouldn't make this often, but for Fat Tuesday fare, it hit the spot. :) To my surprise, I thought the olive salad was the best part! If the ratio of Kalamata / stuffed green olives were reversed, it would have not been to my liking at all. So that the olive taste wouldn't overwhelm every bite, I coarsely chopped mine (as opposed to crushing them). I also chopped my pepperoncini (biting into a whole one didn't appeal to me). Because I prefer a warm sandwich, I heated mine (foil covered) in a 250 degree oven for about 25 minutes. Ironically, my local Italian market didn't have seeded Italian bread, but I found a 1 lb. loaf at a popular grocery chain. I'm soooo glad I found a seeded loaf of bread. It really made a HUGE difference, IMHO. NOTE: Plan ahead so that you can refrigerate your assembled sandwich for a few hours - and be sure to add some of the oil from your olive salad so that it soaks into your bread (it adds GREAT flavor...yum!). I've never had a true muffaletta from Central Grocery, but if it tastes anything like this, I'd be in for a real treat! Thanks for sharing, Jenn! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Absolutely awesome for salt lovers!!!! Pure heaven. Things not really needed in olive salad (which will save time and money) - pickled cauliflower, celery, and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I made this for the super bowl and tasted it yesterday, my husband said it will be a hit and I thought it was the best turkey sandwich I ever tasted. I made a few changes to adjust for turkey: Instead of cauliflower, capers, and marinated onion I used a small jar of marinated artichokes, 5 sundried tomatoes in oil, and 7 oz jar of roasted red pepper, and 2 T of chopped onion, and put everything in the food processor. I am surving it on ciabatta rolls with sliced Roma tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Reeeeeeally tasty! I made this for a catering event that had a bit of a theme... and this fit perfectly for New Orleans! The flavors are incredible together - but it's a bit messy!! I love the presentation but it's so hard to eat! Oh well, it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Royall
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I started by making the bread. I used Mama D’s Italian from this site, it is a favorite of mine and the recipe will produce 2, 9”- 10” boules.When the loaves were formed for the second rise, I spritzed it with a little water and sprinkled sesame seeds on top and covered. About 20-25 minutes later they were ready for the oven and just before I put them in, I gently brushed on an egg mixture of 2 TBSP of cold water and 1 egg. Assembly: I had made the olive salad, as written, the day before and put the mixture into a jar and made sure there was plenty of olive oil to cover the mixture. I then carefully hollowed out the top and bottom of the bread after slicing through the middle. I weighed out the mixture into 4 prep bowls and then laid out the meats and cheeses for assembly. I spread the salad into each half of the bread evenly and started layering the meat and cheese on, making sure everything came out to the edge. After the last of the cheese was layered on, I aligned the top to the bottom and flipped the top to the bottom. I ended up with 2, 3+ pound sandwiches. I wrapped both sandwiches in plastic wrap and have them in the fridge to let the flavors come together. *UPDATE* Just got back from the party, and the Muffuletta was a big hit. I'll be using this quite often for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Rating this probably isn't fair since I had to change so much. 1. I bought jarred olive salad. I'm sure homemade would be better but time was short and the ingredients would have been very expensive. (I will try it for a special occassion sometime.) 2. I used swiss and provolone. 3. I don't know what mortadella is. I used salami, turkey and pepperoni. The point with the meet seems to be to add to the bold taste of the sandwich. Ham would be better than turkey I'm sure, but since I only had turkey it was fine. 4. Bread is very important. It must be soft bread. Mine was a little crusty and we agreed soft would be better. He made the comment not knowing I didn't have the right bread. 5. I wasn't sure my teenagers would like the olive taste. Wrong. They loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This is one fantastic sandwich!!! Make sure you follow the directions to refrigerate the olive relish overnight. You could eat it with a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real N’awlins Muffuletta

A classic New Orleans sandwich piled with deli meats, cheese, and olive dressing.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Real Poutine

See how to make French fries and cheese smothered in flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States