Real N'awlins Muffuletta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
This is a great muffuletta. I used red onion instead of the pickled onions and omitted the vegetable oil. I used only olive oil. It turned out great! This is totally authentic. You'll think you are in the Big Easy! Thanks Boo for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
I am a New Orlean's Central Grocery Muffeletta fan. This recipe was great!! Almost as terrific as Central Grocery's version. Maybe better, because I made it fresh!! My husband and I savored every bite. My daughter liked it on a Hawaiin Bread Roll, with a sweetness to it. My son is not an olive fan. That's o.k., more for me to eat!! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eila

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
I made this for Superbowl, omitting the capers and mortadella. Delicious! My husband, who was hesitant about the recipe, just loved it. One hint, make sure your olives are well drained and dried off with paper towels if you don't want the salad to taste too briny. This would be great to take on picnics or car trips as it can be made in advance, and keeps well in the fridge otr a cooler. Thanks, Boo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
This was truly impressive in taste and presentation! Most people raved about it though the olive salad didn't suit a few of the others who wouldn't have liked it on anything else anyway. I was fortunate enough to get the round loaves made fresh the morning I needed them from the Italian grocery where I could purchase everything else. DEEELICIOUS! I read in the reference section that the original and best mortadella can be purchased only in Italy. Has anyone found this to have changed?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
The sandwich was very good. The olive spread is very similar to what you would find on Bourbon Street. I prepared the olive spread the night before to allow the flavors to blend. Made it for Superbowl Sunday and my friends loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
I have to say that I don't like olives at all but I wanted to try a real Muffuletta. I also have to say this is the best sandwich. The flavors were terrific. I took this to a Christmas party at work and everyone there also loved it. For those of you like me who don't like olives you have to try this. The flavors really blend and the olive taste isn't overpowering. 5+ stars. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
The olive salad sure took a long time to make but it was easy and the taste of this sandwich... AMAZING! This was a big, big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
The olive salad was a huge hit at a tailgate party. I am making it again as a gift for family who loved it. As close to the original Central Grocery olive salad as I have tasted. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALPURV

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
Boo, baby, ya done good. This is the best olive salad recipe I['ve ever seen (and I live in N.O. where I can buy the real deal.) The reviewer who said she adds mustard -- well, honey, don't come to New Orleans and do that, people will be appalled. My ONLY criticism -- we never, EVER say "N'Awlins" here!!! Noo Awlins, New Orlins, New Or-le-unz, yes, the Crescent City, okay, but never that silly Frank Davis "Nat'rally Nawlins" contraction. I give this recipe five fleur-de-lis's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real N’awlins Muffuletta

A classic New Orleans sandwich piled with deli meats, cheese, and olive dressing.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Real Poutine

See how to make French fries and cheese smothered in flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States