Real N'awlins Muffuletta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Wow!! I cannot say enough about how great this sandwich is! Chopping a lot of the relish ingredients in the food processor (as someone else suggested) sure was a time saver. I toned the spices down a lot because I don't like hot things - reduced the black pepper to 1/4 tsp., and omitted the pepperoncini peppers. I don't like onion after-taste, so I left off the onions, too. I reduced the amount of oil a ton - used only 1/4 cup olive oil, and omitted the canola oil entirely. I lightly basted the bread with olive oil, then spread on the olive relish. It was wonderful! Thanks so much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
Wow...almost as good as Napoleon House !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
Excellent sandwich!! Love the olive salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
I made this for a Superbowl party and it was a hit. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLR71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
This is so good! I only used 1/2 cup of olive oil in the olive salad because the amount called for seemed so decadent, but it was great anyway. The recipe didn't mention it, but I diced the olive salad ingredients, since the muffuletta I had previously was made that way. Also, I used the celery and carrot that came in the pickled cauliflower bottle instead of fresh. Genoa salami is much better than the less expensive versions. I don't think I will ever get tired of this sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
Yum! Great addition to our Superbowl buffet. I omitted the pearl onions and instead, added sliced red onion. I couldn't find mortadella so I left that out as well. I didn't want soggy leftovers so I put the meats on the bread and put the salad in between the meat and the cheese. We thought it was even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
Great recipe! Everyone loved it. It tasted better than the muffuletta I had in New Orleans. I served it with Boudreaux's Zydeco Stomp Gumbo in a cup on the side, fresh fruit, and cole slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
This really does make HUGE sandwiches! I love the olive salad, but there was just too much meat for us, no-one could manage more than the smallest slice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
As good as the stuff I bought at Central Grocery in New Orleans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2004
Yum. Very different, but enjoyed by all. Not an everyday thing, tho'. Will make it as a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real N’awlins Muffuletta

A classic New Orleans sandwich piled with deli meats, cheese, and olive dressing.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Real Poutine

See how to make French fries and cheese smothered in flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States