Real N'awlins Muffuletta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Not for the faint of heart! I didn't have the cauliflower, and only had hard salami, ham and provolone, but the olive salad flavors were spectacular! We couldn't believe we ate the whole thing -- I think my husband is afraid I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
If you ever wondered what a authentic muffuletta is all about, this is it. Best olive mix ever. Great on any kind of sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I made this with the bread recipe and it was a hit with the 27 people I served it to. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This olive salad is PERFECT for the muffuletta sandwich! We had these from Central Grocery on our honeymoon, and I was trying to recreate as an anniversary present. I ommitted the cauliflower, carrots, celery seed and canola oil. I found a bakery here that makes muffuletta bread and went to a good deli to get salami, coppa, and provolone. The sandwich was so good I could hear the blues and smell the gulf! Tip: don't be temped to skimp on the amount of olive oil. Part of the beauty of the sandwich is the olive salad soaking into the dense bread to make it moist. If you haven't tried this yet... you should!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzieBearCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Made exactly as per recipe except I only had 6 hours to marinate the ingredients. It was good but I thought the olive salad overpowered the taste of the rest of the sandwich as did the friend who shared it with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
This was a really big hit at our last party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
Yummy! I made a number of changes to help make this a little more healthy, but the seasonings make the spread! Vary tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Williamsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
Boo, baby, ya done good. This is the best olive salad recipe I['ve ever seen (and I live in N.O. where I can buy the real deal.) The reviewer who said she adds mustard -- well, honey, don't come to New Orleans and do that, people will be appalled. My ONLY criticism -- we never, EVER say "N'Awlins" here!!! Noo Awlins, New Orlins, New Or-le-unz, yes, the Crescent City, okay, but never that silly Frank Davis "Nat'rally Nawlins" contraction. I give this recipe five fleur-de-lis's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Outstanding recipe! It made way more than 8 servings. Everyone wanted the recipe. My only negative is that it was a little salty with all the olives and lunch meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Definitely a keeper! I didn't have all the ingredients such as onions and celery salt but even without these ingredients, it was excellent. Even my husband said that the Olive Salad made a plain sub sandwich taste extraordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Gurnee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real N’awlins Muffuletta

A classic New Orleans sandwich piled with deli meats, cheese, and olive dressing.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Real Poutine

See how to make French fries and cheese smothered in flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States