Real N'awlins Muffuletta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
My daughter has been obsessed with the Princess & the Frog movie and asked me to make several of the traditional New Orleans dishes mentioned in it. I had NO idea what muffuletta was until I found this recipe. I'm in no way shape or form a big fan of olives, aside from black ones in mexican-type dishes, so I was a little aprehensive about trying this one. I did see in the reviews that some others who normally don't care for olives liked this sandwich, so I had some hopes I'd be the same. After gathering all the ingredients for just 4 servings (1 loaf), the sandwich was quickly assembled and wrapped tightly in the fridge from lunchtime until dinner. The final verdict? My husband LOVED it and claims it should become a staple and that everyone should eat this at least once. The kids just kind of picked at it - my daughter didn't eat the bread and my son didn't eat the cheese. lol. As for me - I'm still not a fan of uncooked olives, so this wasn't a huge hit with me. The meat, cheese and bread were good though! I'm still giving this 5 stars because it was fun to make and try with my family and the fact that my husband thought it was so good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
These were a super hit!! We made them for Super bowl/Mardi Gras party and they were great! I bought the bread from a south coast grocery store specifically for muffuletta's..They turn out HUGE so we ended up with waymore than enough. I put mine in tin foil, let them sit in the fridge for a couple of hours and baked them for about 30 minutes and served them hot...Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moody2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Made this for Super Bowl. I have never had muffuletta but I have seen it prepared on the Food Network and it always makes my mouth water! The problem I had is that after being in the refrigerator for the afternoon, my loaf was all soggy on the bottom (from the olive salad). Is this normal for muffuletta? I don't know but I didn't care for the soggy texture. It reminded me of when my kids throw pieces of stale Wonder Bread in the pond for the ducks to eat! Aside from the unappealing texture of the bread, the salad itself was okay. I don't think I'll make this again--unless of course the Saints make it to another Super Bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CPA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Wonderful! It's easier to use the olive topping that you put on Italian Beef for this sandwich. Pick up a jar at Michaels Fresh Market, Dominick's or even Jewel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This olive salad is absolutely fantastic!!!! It is great for...Superbowl, Tailgating, New Year's Eve, Mardi Gras, Picnicing, Party time, Snack time, or ANYTIME!!!!!! It is just really good. I used 100% evoo. A good substitute for mortadella is bologna. I also used an immersion blender to blend my salad and it seemed easier than using my chopper and easier to clean than a regular blender or food processer. I always double the recipe and have leftover. Because it is immersed in vinegar and olive oil, it keeps really well for awhile in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Great sandwich!! I was asked to make this regular in the line up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This was good, not great. I didnt care for the taste of the celery seed in the olive mixture. My husband liked it, but I could taste it too much. I used a whole wheat bread that was okay with the recipe, not quite as good as a white italian loaf would be but for health reasons, I substituted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I made these for a grad party, and they were a real hit. Easy on the cook too, because you can make them the night before, wrap tightley in plastic wrap, and keep them in the fridge. It actually improves the flavor. Because I was short on time I used premade olive salad with excellent results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This is soooo good! Even my mom, who turns her nose up at any sandwich that doesn't have turkey on it, loved it. Thanks for the olive salad recipe -- it's great and lends itself nicely to tweaks and additions/omissions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I really loved this as did my family we hosted a few unadventurous guests who said it was okay. I have never had a Muffuletta before so I have nothing to compare this to all I can say is it was super tasty! Only thing I changed was using celery salt instead of celery seed because I didnt have it on hand and used red wine vinegar infused with garlic. Oh, and put it on sun dried tomato bread, yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real N’awlins Muffuletta

A classic New Orleans sandwich piled with deli meats, cheese, and olive dressing.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Real Poutine

See how to make French fries and cheese smothered in flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States