Real N'awlins Muffuletta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Made this for Super Bowl. I have never had muffuletta but I have seen it prepared on the Food Network and it always makes my mouth water! The problem I had is that after being in the refrigerator for the afternoon, my loaf was all soggy on the bottom (from the olive salad). Is this normal for muffuletta? I don't know but I didn't care for the soggy texture. It reminded me of when my kids throw pieces of stale Wonder Bread in the pond for the ducks to eat! Aside from the unappealing texture of the bread, the salad itself was okay. I don't think I'll make this again--unless of course the Saints make it to another Super Bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CPA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Wonderful! It's easier to use the olive topping that you put on Italian Beef for this sandwich. Pick up a jar at Michaels Fresh Market, Dominick's or even Jewel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This olive salad is absolutely fantastic!!!! It is great for...Superbowl, Tailgating, New Year's Eve, Mardi Gras, Picnicing, Party time, Snack time, or ANYTIME!!!!!! It is just really good. I used 100% evoo. A good substitute for mortadella is bologna. I also used an immersion blender to blend my salad and it seemed easier than using my chopper and easier to clean than a regular blender or food processer. I always double the recipe and have leftover. Because it is immersed in vinegar and olive oil, it keeps really well for awhile in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Great sandwich!! I was asked to make this regular in the line up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This was good, not great. I didnt care for the taste of the celery seed in the olive mixture. My husband liked it, but I could taste it too much. I used a whole wheat bread that was okay with the recipe, not quite as good as a white italian loaf would be but for health reasons, I substituted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I made these for a grad party, and they were a real hit. Easy on the cook too, because you can make them the night before, wrap tightley in plastic wrap, and keep them in the fridge. It actually improves the flavor. Because I was short on time I used premade olive salad with excellent results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This is soooo good! Even my mom, who turns her nose up at any sandwich that doesn't have turkey on it, loved it. Thanks for the olive salad recipe -- it's great and lends itself nicely to tweaks and additions/omissions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I really loved this as did my family we hosted a few unadventurous guests who said it was okay. I have never had a Muffuletta before so I have nothing to compare this to all I can say is it was super tasty! Only thing I changed was using celery salt instead of celery seed because I didnt have it on hand and used red wine vinegar infused with garlic. Oh, and put it on sun dried tomato bread, yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I haven't made the sandwiches yet, we will have them for dinner. But I'm rating the olive salad. I absolutely love it! I snuck a taste after mixing the ingredients and this olive salad is as close to Central Grocery's as you can get. I used a couple of jars of mixed pitted olives (kalamata, green and prune,) I grated the carrot and diced the pepperocini's, I wasn't sure what I was supose to do with the coctail onions by the recipe, so I put them in whole just to marinate the flavors, I won't put them on the sadwiches though. I also left out the canola and added a little more olive oil. Also, since the olives I used weren't stuffed with pimento's I added some separately to the mix. I used celery salt instead of celery seed since I didn't have any on hand. It makes a lot, so I'll be giving my sister a jar to take home. I never buy the jarred varieties of olive salad, because they just don't compare to what I expect. My sister and I were just talking about how much we missed the olive salad from the Central Grocery; this is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lostjujubeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
We were muffuletta virgins, th mister and I. This is an amazing sandwich. The only changes I made were for personal preference and practicality. I cut out the cocktail onions because neither of us are fond of them, cut back on the pperoncini a little because we didn't have quite as many as asked for, upped the pickled cauli because we ARE very fond of it, and served it on Olive & Onion Bread from this site because it was the right size and shape and we had some in the freezer. Excellent!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Real N’awlins Muffuletta

A classic New Orleans sandwich piled with deli meats, cheese, and olive dressing.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Real Poutine

See how to make French fries and cheese smothered in flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States