Real N'awlins Muffuletta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I really loved this as did my family we hosted a few unadventurous guests who said it was okay. I have never had a Muffuletta before so I have nothing to compare this to all I can say is it was super tasty! Only thing I changed was using celery salt instead of celery seed because I didnt have it on hand and used red wine vinegar infused with garlic. Oh, and put it on sun dried tomato bread, yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I haven't made the sandwiches yet, we will have them for dinner. But I'm rating the olive salad. I absolutely love it! I snuck a taste after mixing the ingredients and this olive salad is as close to Central Grocery's as you can get. I used a couple of jars of mixed pitted olives (kalamata, green and prune,) I grated the carrot and diced the pepperocini's, I wasn't sure what I was supose to do with the coctail onions by the recipe, so I put them in whole just to marinate the flavors, I won't put them on the sadwiches though. I also left out the canola and added a little more olive oil. Also, since the olives I used weren't stuffed with pimento's I added some separately to the mix. I used celery salt instead of celery seed since I didn't have any on hand. It makes a lot, so I'll be giving my sister a jar to take home. I never buy the jarred varieties of olive salad, because they just don't compare to what I expect. My sister and I were just talking about how much we missed the olive salad from the Central Grocery; this is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lostjujubeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
We were muffuletta virgins, th mister and I. This is an amazing sandwich. The only changes I made were for personal preference and practicality. I cut out the cocktail onions because neither of us are fond of them, cut back on the pperoncini a little because we didn't have quite as many as asked for, upped the pickled cauli because we ARE very fond of it, and served it on Olive & Onion Bread from this site because it was the right size and shape and we had some in the freezer. Excellent!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
The real trick is getting good bread. Foccaccia bread works really well for soaking up the oil from the olive salad. I doubled the olive oil in the salad, added some roasted red pepper and halfed the amount of meat/cheese, it was excellent! One recommendation would be to used toothpicks to keep the sliced sandwich pieces together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbaleelou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
WOW!!! Almost took me back to central grocery. Very good, I just know there a little something different that I need to do, just not sure what
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANDIKUNZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Simply outstanding. Great for a college football tailgate party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Detroiteater

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I can't give it 5 stars. I really wanted 3 1/2, but it doesn't give that as an option. I used all the ingredients except the pickled cauliflower. I couldn't find it. I used a round sourdough bread and even though I dug out as much bread as I could, it still didn't work. The olive salad was great, but I too thought there was too much meat in it it. I think w/ some tweaking for our tastes, I might try it again sometime down the road.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Very good. I would say this has 10 large servings or 20 small servings. It cost me about $40 to buy the ingredients. Worth the cost considering how much is makes. Very good sandwich. Nice change from the normal tailgating foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real N’awlins Muffuletta

A classic New Orleans sandwich piled with deli meats, cheese, and olive dressing.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Real Poutine

See how to make French fries and cheese smothered in flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States