Real N'awlins Muffuletta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I've never made Muffuletta before but was interested in trying it. This recipe is awesome! I had a small get together when some of my relatives came to visit. Everyone loved it. I thought I would have tons of leftovers but it was gone by the end of the night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Yum yum! I made these the evening before to take on our Saturday beach trip for lunch and they were divine! Perfect in the cooler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corkypompom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Ived been looking for this for the longest time!!! ived been to new orleans and tried that sandwich with the olive spread!!! unbelievable!!! im so happy i found it!!! the recipe its unbelievable delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This is my 3rd time making this awesome sandwich. I buy the olive mix premade from an awesome local grocery and all of the meats and cheese, too. I refuse to use Mortedello (it's bolonga!!). I buy Coppa Colla instead. YUM! This may make 8 servings but, my family of 3--hubby, 18 year old son and me---eat the whole thing easily. I do not eat very much. If there are leftovers, the hubby wants them in his lunch which ticks off the son who figured it would be his breakfast. They have asked me to find the biggest rounds of bread I can. Too funny! Maybe I will make it next time on a long french loaf just for grins. Thanks for a great recipe! My baby is now off to college in the morning. He requested this as his "last supper". You know you have a great recipe when an 18 yr old boy requests it for a special occasion. I will have to drive down to his dorm with 1 or 2 of these and surprise him and his friends one of these days. Won't tell him I did it because of empty nest syndrome.....just a Mom wanting to surprise her son. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I must be @ central market in New Orleans...cause it taste just like it! I made a "reduced fat" version. I measured 1 cup WHOLE stuffed olives, then crushed/minced those. I only added 2 table spoons of extra light virgin oil and 1 table spoon of pure canola oil. For the veggies (celery, carrots, cauliflower) I used Mezetta Italian Mix Giardiniera (found near the olives - has that all in one jar set to go, just mince) and added an additional table spoon of each. I left out: Kalamatas, Basil, Oregano, Onion and only added 1 teaspoon of red wine vinegar. Made: 26 tablespoons of olive spread Calories per tablespoon: 25 calories I used different bread and my own combo of deli meat/cheese. My main goal was to create a low fat version of this spread for sandwiches and it worked. Amazing, loved this recipe. I used to contemplate paying someone to buy some of this spread and shipping it out to me from New Orleans. My brother said if more oil was added to soak the bread (which I avoided due to cals), this would have been it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
My daughter has been obsessed with the Princess & the Frog movie and asked me to make several of the traditional New Orleans dishes mentioned in it. I had NO idea what muffuletta was until I found this recipe. I'm in no way shape or form a big fan of olives, aside from black ones in mexican-type dishes, so I was a little aprehensive about trying this one. I did see in the reviews that some others who normally don't care for olives liked this sandwich, so I had some hopes I'd be the same. After gathering all the ingredients for just 4 servings (1 loaf), the sandwich was quickly assembled and wrapped tightly in the fridge from lunchtime until dinner. The final verdict? My husband LOVED it and claims it should become a staple and that everyone should eat this at least once. The kids just kind of picked at it - my daughter didn't eat the bread and my son didn't eat the cheese. lol. As for me - I'm still not a fan of uncooked olives, so this wasn't a huge hit with me. The meat, cheese and bread were good though! I'm still giving this 5 stars because it was fun to make and try with my family and the fact that my husband thought it was so good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
These were a super hit!! We made them for Super bowl/Mardi Gras party and they were great! I bought the bread from a south coast grocery store specifically for muffuletta's..They turn out HUGE so we ended up with waymore than enough. I put mine in tin foil, let them sit in the fridge for a couple of hours and baked them for about 30 minutes and served them hot...Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moody2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Made this for Super Bowl. I have never had muffuletta but I have seen it prepared on the Food Network and it always makes my mouth water! The problem I had is that after being in the refrigerator for the afternoon, my loaf was all soggy on the bottom (from the olive salad). Is this normal for muffuletta? I don't know but I didn't care for the soggy texture. It reminded me of when my kids throw pieces of stale Wonder Bread in the pond for the ducks to eat! Aside from the unappealing texture of the bread, the salad itself was okay. I don't think I'll make this again--unless of course the Saints make it to another Super Bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CPA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Wonderful! It's easier to use the olive topping that you put on Italian Beef for this sandwich. Pick up a jar at Michaels Fresh Market, Dominick's or even Jewel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This olive salad is absolutely fantastic!!!! It is great for...Superbowl, Tailgating, New Year's Eve, Mardi Gras, Picnicing, Party time, Snack time, or ANYTIME!!!!!! It is just really good. I used 100% evoo. A good substitute for mortadella is bologna. I also used an immersion blender to blend my salad and it seemed easier than using my chopper and easier to clean than a regular blender or food processer. I always double the recipe and have leftover. Because it is immersed in vinegar and olive oil, it keeps really well for awhile in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Real N’awlins Muffuletta

A classic New Orleans sandwich piled with deli meats, cheese, and olive dressing.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Real Poutine

See how to make French fries and cheese smothered in flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States