Real N'awlins Muffuletta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I used olive loaf instead of mortadella, same type of meat w/olives instead of fat. excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made this easy by buying: Marzetta's California Hot Mix (pickled celery, carrots, cauliflower) and cans of chopped black and green olives. The rest I kept the same. With this modification the recipe was simple AND delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kdayne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
sounds better than it is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Didnt have all the meat ingredients. Made do with pepperoni, salami, ham and turkey. The olive dressing was UNBELIEVABLE! Would double it next time... Makes for a nice change from the typical sandwich. Good for company too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berea, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
hoooo, yeah. I make the olive salad in the food processor - rough chop the stuff, then just three or four pulses to keep it coarse. then add the liquids and seasonings in the jar it's going to be stored in. So hard to get good bread up here in Maine, but a crusty italian loaf is a must. In season, I spread a few fresh basil leaves on top of the olive salad when building the sandwich. I use cappicola; mild or hot. I usually make at least two of these, so I do one spicy and one mild. This is the best summer picnic meal EVER. Thank you for sharing an outstanding recipe. Vegetarians like this with roasted red peppers and/or grilled eggplant to replace the meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
The trick to the olive salad is to roughly chop green and black olives (your choice) in a food processor, add good, fruity, olive oil, a dash of GOOD balsamic vinegar, some freshly pressed garlic - cover and let it sit overnight at room temperature. Mix well and spread the inside of your fresh Italian bread with the liquid that collects after a day or so. Broil for a minute or two, just to brown a little and proceed with the recipe with whatever deli meats and cheeses you prefer - quality counts. We used to order two of these at Central Grocery and take them home on the plane from New Orleans - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This was my first time having muffuletta and my me, my family and friends all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knance

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dahlgren, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Never heard of this till I saw it on Emeril. Following his lead I make this recipe but I wrap it if foil and put it in the oven at 375 for 15-20 minutes before serving. Try it this way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atomicdogs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I assembled my sandwich in the morning before a day at the zoo. I wrapped it in plastic wrap and it stayed in the cooler until we were ready to eat. It turned out delicious! Wonderful and loved by everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Made the olive salad and set out of a tray of meats and cheeses for our family's "sandwich night". Loved the olive salad beyond anything reasonable...it was even good alone in a sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real N’awlins Muffuletta

A classic New Orleans sandwich piled with deli meats, cheese, and olive dressing.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Real Poutine

See how to make French fries and cheese smothered in flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States