Real N'awlins Muffuletta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Good except for the Mortadella. I'm not a fan of this bologna mimic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUNFLWR24L
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This was a great tasting sandwich although it was definitely labor intensive. I wish I would have doubled the olive salad because I barely had enough for both sandwiches and it took about 45 minutes to prep and chop all of the veggies. I probably won't make this often, but it really was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNFLWR24L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
VERY yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
The olive salad alone is reason to give this recipe 5 stars. It's crazy expensive if you can't buy small amounts of ingredients (I am somewhat rural) so I made a double batch and with a few more green olives and capers, I can make another. I had about a gallon of the stuff and thought I'd never use it all. I gave some away but then I tried it on home made gnocchi and, well, I'm keeping the rest and making more. Bruschetta, pizza, cheese and crackers...straight out of the jar. It's phenomenal. I once bought a jar from Central Grocery in NOLA and it was not this good! My only tweak was a little chopped fresh parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
This is one awesome sandwich! Delicious crowd pleaser. I especially appreciate that the olive salad is made ahead of time; making the sandwich is a breeze. Once the sandwich is made, it travels well. Seriously would give this 10 stars for great taste + satisfying + ease. Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
My kids have been turkey and mayo with pickles exclusively their whole lives. This recipe changed that. I blend mine to hide the cauliflower and capers from my kids and they will destroy this sandwich. My 8 year old would eat a 12 inch sub of this meal and he is only 55 lbs. Serves a crowd! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
So deliciously. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Rosenthal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I come back to this recipe again and again - always a crowd-pleaser. The only trouble I have is finding it - the second "U" in the title means this doesn't come up when searched! The olive salad is amazing, even to people who don't like olives. It's also very flexible -- don't NOT make it because you don't have a few of the items. And be sure to include the celery and carrots - tho a small amount that little crunch makes all of the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Too much oil. Cut the oil in 1/2 and was plenty. Otherwise made just as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Pretty good! I'm not a fan of olives (especially Kalamatas), but this wasn't bad at all. I wouldn't make this often, but for Fat Tuesday fare, it hit the spot. :) To my surprise, I thought the olive salad was the best part! If the ratio of Kalamata / stuffed green olives were reversed, it would have not been to my liking at all. So that the olive taste wouldn't overwhelm every bite, I coarsely chopped mine (as opposed to crushing them). I also chopped my pepperoncini (biting into a whole one didn't appeal to me). Because I prefer a warm sandwich, I heated mine (foil covered) in a 250 degree oven for about 25 minutes. Ironically, my local Italian market didn't have seeded Italian bread, but I found a 1 lb. loaf at a popular grocery chain. I'm soooo glad I found a seeded loaf of bread. It really made a HUGE difference, IMHO. NOTE: Plan ahead so that you can refrigerate your assembled sandwich for a few hours - and be sure to add some of the oil from your olive salad so that it soaks into your bread (it adds GREAT flavor...yum!). I've never had a true muffaletta from Central Grocery, but if it tastes anything like this, I'd be in for a real treat! Thanks for sharing, Jenn! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Real N’awlins Muffuletta

A classic New Orleans sandwich piled with deli meats, cheese, and olive dressing.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Real Poutine

See how to make French fries and cheese smothered in flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States