Real Mississippi Mud Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ladyshay
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I was looking for a chocolate pie similar to what my step mother used to bake and this is so close to her pie. I did add the coffee as other suggested and I loved the taste. Really good pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyshay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Made this for my son in laws birthday, I have never tried Mississippi Mud Pie, went with this one. Added 1 tsp instant coffee and 1 tsp vanilla. It was good, but got a 'thumbs up' from the SIL !!! YAY !!! Thanks for sharing !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARYL4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA
Living In: Mohave Valley, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Have been making this type of mud pie since I was a teenager. I double the recipe to make two pies, but use half the butter. Also, added vanilla and some unsweetened chocolate like the others suggested. Also, we are gluten free, so I put it in a nut crust. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was absolutely fabulous. I followed others recommendations and added 1 tsp. of instant coffee, 1 tsp. of vanilla and dusted the nuts with flour. For my own personal taste I used (4) squares of semi-sweet chocolate and (2) squares of bittersweet. It was dark, rich and decadent. I also served it with fresh sweetened whipped cream. Will be making it with pecans today, may try it with macadamia nuts too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BstnBny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Super yummy :) Added instant coffee and vanilla and topped each serving with fresh whipped cream. It's very rich and chocolatey. Will definitely make a again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISKELE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I couldn't believe how easy - and so delicious. I left out walnuts due to a nut allergy. Added vanilla ice cream on top and it was a huge hit for Thanksgiving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This was great. I added a Tablespoon if instant coffee for a little kick. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Even better the second day, if that is possible, deep rich chocolate flavor, so easy to prepare! I used chopped pecans coated with flour so they would not sink, 1 tsp vanilla, and 1 tsp instant coffee, I only had unsweetened chocolate squares, so just added granulated sugar to taste while cooling - this is a keeper! I made 2 and froze one for later - but that may be very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Very good--had the consistency of a brownie, which I wasn't expecting but loved nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alohagal287

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I didn't think this was that great. I made 2 of them and neither turned out that well. The center took a long time to cook, much longer than 35 min. and the edges were a little hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sahall46

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Mud Pie

See how to make an awesome frozen pie with plenty of fudge sauce!

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States