Real Italian Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
How in the world can you call this a "real Italian calzone" when you're using American cheddar cheese ? Sorry...but that is a major fail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dean Cannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly, other than cutting 2 slits in each calzone with a serrated knife in order to release steam. It was good, especially with "Exquisite Pizza Sauce from this site, but 1/2 cup of each filling was barely enough to detect when eating. I recommend using a cup of each filling, even if it means you have to omit one in order to make it fit. The dough was a little "bready" for my husband's taste, but I probably let it rise too much since it wasn't supposed to be completely doubled. My son and I liked it that way, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I used my own filling recipe, but the crust for this was delicious. I just put everything in my bread machine and the dough came out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Really good!! Uses the broiler the last 5-10 minutes to make the top crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Ok, I admit it. I totally cheated. I used frozen premade pizza dough. But in my defense, how many people have time to make dough from scratch for a weeknight dinner? If I did that, we'd be eating after bedtime. That all being said, these were GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
My family went crazy over these. I had to make more. The next batch had different filling but they still tasted fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Amazine dough, amazing calzone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FallHat
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Like another viewer mentioned very easy dough to work with. Made these with my homemade ricotta cheese recipe. Entire family loved them. Very easy to make and fun for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Cheddar when making Italian? Made the recipe just to see and will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
made these this past week and my family just loved them! So delicious. The reason for the 4 star rating is because I did not use the pizza dough recipe listed here, but used my own instead. You just can't beat it so why change right? So I cannot comment on the pizza dough part. But for a tip, I did add dry italian spices and garlic powder to my dough as I was making it and the flavor was perfect for the calzones! Just throw them in while the dough is still fairly wet. Only other changes I made where as some other reviews suggested. I made 8 individual sized calzones. My kids do not like mushrooms and I'm not a huge pepperoni fan, so I made half with just the cheeses and pepperoni and the other with the cheeses, mushrooms and onions! I too did not use cheddar but used freshly grated parmesan and used the whole container of ricotta. Half a cup was just not enough for me. These also freeze and reheat well so you can make a double batch and freeze the extras! I will be doing that next time. Wonderful recipe! Thanks for submitting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcfrk01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 587) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

This flavorful, moist baked chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States