Real Italian Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
My family went crazy over these. I had to make more. The next batch had different filling but they still tasted fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Amazine dough, amazing calzone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FallHat
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Like another viewer mentioned very easy dough to work with. Made these with my homemade ricotta cheese recipe. Entire family loved them. Very easy to make and fun for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Cheddar when making Italian? Made the recipe just to see and will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
made these this past week and my family just loved them! So delicious. The reason for the 4 star rating is because I did not use the pizza dough recipe listed here, but used my own instead. You just can't beat it so why change right? So I cannot comment on the pizza dough part. But for a tip, I did add dry italian spices and garlic powder to my dough as I was making it and the flavor was perfect for the calzones! Just throw them in while the dough is still fairly wet. Only other changes I made where as some other reviews suggested. I made 8 individual sized calzones. My kids do not like mushrooms and I'm not a huge pepperoni fan, so I made half with just the cheeses and pepperoni and the other with the cheeses, mushrooms and onions! I too did not use cheddar but used freshly grated parmesan and used the whole container of ricotta. Half a cup was just not enough for me. These also freeze and reheat well so you can make a double batch and freeze the extras! I will be doing that next time. Wonderful recipe! Thanks for submitting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcfrk01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This is the best calzone recipe ever! My family was pleased with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cofey4u

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
t was actually quite dense and a little dry in my opinion.I admit to using a little bit too much flour in the kneading process which could have attributed to the dryness but if the dough wasn't so darn sticky in the first place I wouldn't have had to resort to the flour.Maybe I just stink at dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martina Martinez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Not a fan of this too heavy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Great meal for picky toddlers and adults alike, I would rate it five stars with more filling. I recommend doubling the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Not bad, although I mostly just followed the dough recipe. The dough came out of my bread-maker extremely sticky; I use olive oil on my hands and counter-top surface and pressed the dough into a rough circle with my hands. For the filling I used only ricotta cheese, seasoned with salt+pepper+dried basil, then sprinkled on chopped mushrooms and peppers and laid on slices of pepperoni. The bread did cook up beautifully, browning nicely under the egg wash, and with great texture. The filling wasn't impressive, nor was it enough for this much bread, so that needs work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 582) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

This flavorful, moist baked chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States