Real Hungarian Goulash (No Tomato Paste Here) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I used vegetable oil in place of lard and substitute water with beef broth. It turned out very tasty. So simple yet delicious. Will make this again and again. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
First time to try this. I did not have lard available at home, but all other ingredients were on hand. I used butter and went right into it. After two hours it was near ready. I added coarse Mediterranean salt to taste and fresh ground pepper corn from the Philippines. Well it went over very well with the wife and kids! Just a bit left for me to take for work tonight. Easy and a keeper in my book. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
We had never tried this before and we really enjoyed it. The only different thing we did was we used oil in place of lard. We will certainly enjoy it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
YUMMY! no leftovers here. A very forgiving recipe. I got distracted and scorched my onion paprika mixture, as quick as I could I switched to another pan and added more paprika and onion to replace what was lost, watching carefully I softened the new onion and then added the cup of water. As you see it came out beautifully no burnt or unpleasant taste and the little browning on some of the meat added to the flavor. The meat was melt in your mouth tender,and my house smelled so wonderful while it was cooking my neighbors were leaning over the fence to get a whiff.I will be using this recipe often, hopefully leaving out the scorching step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I am hungarian, and I can vouch that this is the only authentic recipe for hungarian goulash among this "line up" of different goulashes :) The original was made by herdsmen on an open fire on the pasture. They had no fancy ingredients to ad....thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Only truly authentic Hungarian Goulash here. The author is right, there are NEVER any tomato products in AUTHENTIC Hungarian Goulash. All the red is pure paprika. The men in the fields making this on an open fire wouldn't have had tomato products.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rb Redmond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Perhaps there's something "lost in translation" but Goulash (Gulyas) is a soup (leves). This appears to be the recipe for Marhaporkolt, which is a very nice recipe, but I would brown the meat in the pot first and then remove it before browning the onions then add the beef and the paprika. Don't let the paprika "catch" because it goes bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Amazing! I only made one change, using a combo of shortening and oil in place of the lard. Everyone loved this and I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This recipe was utterly delicious! I already had all the ingredients in my kitchen except for the beef, so instead I just used some hamburger I had in the freezer. I was nervous about making it without any tomato paste, so I had some on standby just in case; however, I had a little taste when the meat was done cooking, and it proved to not need any tomato paste! My husband is a very picky eater, and usually when I am trying a new recipe I can't tell him because he will automatically dislike the meal. I told my husband last night that I was trying a new goulash recipe, and he ended up loving it! I will start making this authentic Hungarian goulash in place of my usual goulash meal. Helpful hint: Try mixing in a little sour cream before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Maybe the Hungarian paprika I bought was not right, but this lacked any flavor. I wanted to use the hot paprika but didn't think my teens would like it. I had to add a lot of salt and pepper and then it tasted like beef stew, which was not what i was going for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States