Real Hungarian Goulash (No Tomato Paste Here) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I used vegetable oil in place of lard and substitute water with beef broth. It turned out very tasty. So simple yet delicious. Will make this again and again. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
First time to try this. I did not have lard available at home, but all other ingredients were on hand. I used butter and went right into it. After two hours it was near ready. I added coarse Mediterranean salt to taste and fresh ground pepper corn from the Philippines. Well it went over very well with the wife and kids! Just a bit left for me to take for work tonight. Easy and a keeper in my book. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
We had never tried this before and we really enjoyed it. The only different thing we did was we used oil in place of lard. We will certainly enjoy it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Perhaps there's something "lost in translation" but Goulash (Gulyas) is a soup (leves). This appears to be the recipe for Marhaporkolt, which is a very nice recipe, but I would brown the meat in the pot first and then remove it before browning the onions then add the beef and the paprika. Don't let the paprika "catch" because it goes bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Amazing! I only made one change, using a combo of shortening and oil in place of the lard. Everyone loved this and I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This recipe was utterly delicious! I already had all the ingredients in my kitchen except for the beef, so instead I just used some hamburger I had in the freezer. I was nervous about making it without any tomato paste, so I had some on standby just in case; however, I had a little taste when the meat was done cooking, and it proved to not need any tomato paste! My husband is a very picky eater, and usually when I am trying a new recipe I can't tell him because he will automatically dislike the meal. I told my husband last night that I was trying a new goulash recipe, and he ended up loving it! I will start making this authentic Hungarian goulash in place of my usual goulash meal. Helpful hint: Try mixing in a little sour cream before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Excellent recipe! I browned the meat, then caramelized the onions with butter. I then transferred all with the remaining ingredients to my slow cooker and let it set for about 5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Perfect! Just like my Hungarian mother used to make. Often she would boil potatoes right in the same pot. After the beef is cooked, add some more water to simmer then add the peeled and chopped potatoes. Cook about 30 minutes. Or serve it just like it is over egg noodles, as pictured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
No alterations. Prepared as described. It was perfection!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Wonderful recipe with moose too. Even my moose meat snubbing friends loved it! Thanks, a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States