Real Hungarian Goulash (No Tomato Paste Here) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Perhaps there's something "lost in translation" but Goulash (Gulyas) is a soup (leves). This appears to be the recipe for Marhaporkolt, which is a very nice recipe, but I would brown the meat in the pot first and then remove it before browning the onions then add the beef and the paprika. Don't let the paprika "catch" because it goes bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I am hungarian, and I can vouch that this is the only authentic recipe for hungarian goulash among this "line up" of different goulashes :) The original was made by herdsmen on an open fire on the pasture. They had no fancy ingredients to ad....thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
YUMMY! no leftovers here. A very forgiving recipe. I got distracted and scorched my onion paprika mixture, as quick as I could I switched to another pan and added more paprika and onion to replace what was lost, watching carefully I softened the new onion and then added the cup of water. As you see it came out beautifully no burnt or unpleasant taste and the little browning on some of the meat added to the flavor. The meat was melt in your mouth tender,and my house smelled so wonderful while it was cooking my neighbors were leaning over the fence to get a whiff.I will be using this recipe often, hopefully leaving out the scorching step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Excellent recipe! I browned the meat, then caramelized the onions with butter. I then transferred all with the remaining ingredients to my slow cooker and let it set for about 5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Stuck to the recipe close except toward the end, instead of adding water or broth I added a cup of RED WINE. Hit the spot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Punta Gorda, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This recipe was utterly delicious! I already had all the ingredients in my kitchen except for the beef, so instead I just used some hamburger I had in the freezer. I was nervous about making it without any tomato paste, so I had some on standby just in case; however, I had a little taste when the meat was done cooking, and it proved to not need any tomato paste! My husband is a very picky eater, and usually when I am trying a new recipe I can't tell him because he will automatically dislike the meal. I told my husband last night that I was trying a new goulash recipe, and he ended up loving it! I will start making this authentic Hungarian goulash in place of my usual goulash meal. Helpful hint: Try mixing in a little sour cream before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Perfect! Just like my Hungarian mother used to make. Often she would boil potatoes right in the same pot. After the beef is cooked, add some more water to simmer then add the peeled and chopped potatoes. Cook about 30 minutes. Or serve it just like it is over egg noodles, as pictured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This is, basically, the viennese version of goulash , in Hungary this would be a pörkölt. To get a real rich, creamy sauce try to use the equal weight of onions and beef! As far as the meat concerns I personally use shank without bone (?), cut into large chunks. You can, and have to, cook it for hours (3-4), and that is what goulash is all about, it has to simmer until the onions fall apart and form this incredibly creamy dark sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dietmar Schöbitz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Wien, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I used vegetable oil in place of lard and substitute water with beef broth. It turned out very tasty. So simple yet delicious. Will make this again and again. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
These are the same ingredients my Hungarian family uses but cooks a little differently. My Mom tosses the beef in a little flour seasoned with salt, pepper and a little paprika then browns it before adding the onions. This would thicken the sauce a little as it cooked She would also sometimes add a beef bouillion cube if it was handy. I agree that tomato sauce has no place in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States