Real Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
This is wonderful. So garlicky and so "just one more bite".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Great recipe! I only had 2 oz of Sesame seeds in the house and no time to hunt down tahini here on the Irish Rivera. I know from experience our grocery stores don't even know what it is. I made a mini batch of Tahini using http://www.cinnamonspiceandeverythingnice.com/how-to-make-tahini-paste/ which was very easy. So for this hummus recipe I only had about 1 Tablespoon of tahini. Because I used fresh tahini it had a very dominant Sesame flavor and didn't need more. I did double the garlic, and if I had time would have used some lemon zest for even more lemon flavor. To avoid gas I rinsed the beans and added very little water, it didn't need it. I didn't do cumin because some people just don't like it but I will add it next time when I make it for myself. I cut way back on the salt and it was fine for my taste. Our guest ate nearly all of it including picky kids. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I love this recipe! I did increase garlic to 2 cloves, reduced lemon to 3 tbsp, and added 1/2 tsp of cumin instead of pepper. I add the olive oil into the hummus instead of drizzling. I always drain and rinse the beans first and process until it is creamy and smooth. It turns out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
No more posting on hummus...didn't even know what hummus was until I got an email from "diabetics r us" about how healthy it is...vs. a McBurger...good alternative to mashed Pinto beans (a.k.a., burritos) or pasta/tomatoes (a.k.a spaghetti)....hard for vegans to get variety....check out the degree of Antioxidants in beans...cool....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
It's good as it, but I use it as a base and go from there. My favorite proportions are: 2 cloves garlic, 1 can (15 oz.) beans, 4 TB lemon, 3 TB tahini, salt as needed. Also, I use cumin instead of pepper. For a fun twist, I sometimes add roasted red pepper (from a jar). One thing I think is important is to drain and rinse your beans, and use regular water instead of the can juice. It makes the beans taste fresher, and I don't use much water anyway. My kids love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy1457

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I make this hummus quite often. I often add roasted red peppers also. My biggest suggestion is to place the garbanzo beans in a shallow bowl of water and take the skins off the beans. Just rub them with your fingers and they slip off quite easily. It's a little time consuming but makes for a MUCH creamier hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rainone87
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This was really easy to make. I did not have tahini so I baked 1 cup of sesame seeds for 5 minutes then let them cool for about 20 minutes. I blended in food processor with olive oil. I stored in 1 cup mason jar which still has 3/4 of tahini after I made this recipe. I added 2 cloves of garlic instead of one since I love garlic. I tried adding the cumin instead of pepper and 3 tablespoons of tahini instead of 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Wow, real hummus is amazing!! I followed the recipe before reading the reviews, and it came out perfectly. I used a 15 oz can of garbanzo beans (because that was the only size I saw), 2 Tbsp tahini, 1 tsp salt, juice of one lemon, 2 cloves of garlic, and about half of the liquid from the can of beans. I haven't garnished it yet, but it tastes delicious - the best hummus I've ever tried! If I do say so myself :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
It was my first time making hummus. I doubled the garlic, reduced the salt, added reserved juices and lemon juice to taste, and offered extra olive oil on the side for my guests. Making more tomorrow and will try cumin instead of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PandB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I tried this as written and it was just OK. After reading several of the other user's reviews, I decided to make the following changes: - Nuke the chickpeas in the microwave for three minutes. - Pop them out of the casing by simply squeezing the pea slightly between two fingers. (this is a little bit time consuming - took all of 10 minutes or so - but was WELL worth it. The consistency is MUCH smoother. - Add a bit of cumin. - Cut back on the lemon juice to half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States