Real Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This is my go-to hummus recipe. It always gets compliments when I bring it to a party with veggies and homemade pita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Delicious, perfect recipe. I love this hummus as is, but I occasionally mix it up with different add-in like roasted red bell peppers, extra garlic or whatever sounds good that day. Very easy to modify to your own liking. Great as a dip, spread, appetizer, or a meal with a few loaves of pita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Humus was great! But it was too salty! I too had to throw it away...maybe a different type of salt like kosher it's ok 1 teaspoon...but not regular table salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Easy....definitely use less salt. I thought 1 tsp was too much so I cut it down to 3/4 tsp and was still way too much. I ended up using a 2nd can of garbanzo beans. And definitely use a small clove of garlic. I had a larger one and its a bit overwhelming even after the 2nd can of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
It's on track, but the garlic and salt taste were really overwhelming for our family. We eat hummus nearly every day, so I decided to make our own. To adjust for our taste, we added an additional can of beans, a little more tahini and lemon juice, skipped the pepper and added a couple sprinkles of cumin instead. It's really quite good now. So in the end, cut the salt in half, skip the pepper, add some cumin and this is a 5 star recipe. We whipped it really, really smooth and topped with a little fresh parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
The consistency is amazing. I used the chick pea water about 2/3 of a cup I'd guess. I tried a little bit of the variation everyone wrote about with Cumin but I don't think I will again. I just used a bit.I love Garlic but I found the strength of the raw garlic a bit harsh for my taste, maybe just smaller cloves next time. I did forget the oil! I don't think that would make too much of a difference but maybe. It's good, just a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Delicious. I doubled the recipe and made it with 4 lg. cloves of garlic (it was a bit garlicky) and everything else pretty much as written. Used 1 tsp. cumin and put it all into the Vitamix. It was awesome and I'll be using this recipe from now on. Thanks, RoyHobbs - it's a real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinnerDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Very bland as first written. I ended up tripling everything but the garbanzo beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This is the first time I made hummus and it is perfect. I used 2 garlic cloves, 1/2 teaspoon cumin, the juice of one lemon, half the liquid from the chickpeas and no salt. Also did not use the olive oil. Love it! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Finally...an easy, inexpensive, healthy, and delicious recipe for an evening snack! I add extra lemon to mine, which makes it taste fresh and light. Love it with tortilla or pita chips! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roozy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 632) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States