Real Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
We love this recipe! I follow the recipe almost as written with the exception of cutting the salt in half for health reasons. Other than that I simply double it because it goes so fast between my husband and myself. This is my go to recipe for hummus. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Yummy with home baked syrian bread chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Wow! I was skeptical, because I REALLY like my store-bought hummus and canned chickpeas don't smell so great. But we love it...even the kids were scarfing it down. Per other reviewers, I used half the salt, 1/2 tsp. of cumin instead of pepper, and no lemon juice (just because I was out of it.) I'll try the lemon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJOURNI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I really like this Hummus but have made some changes to fit my needs. 1. I love spicy things so I added about a 1 tsp of Sriracha chili sauce 2. I'm also am addicted to garlic so I used 3 cloves and 3 shakes of Lawrys garlic salt. 3. I seasoned it with paprika, ground turmeric root, and homemade basil olive oil. DELICIOUS :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RadTASHIC88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
this recipe is amazing! I used 2 tsp. minced garlic, no oil because i wasn't serving it right away, and added 2 tsp of some really hot salsa. the result? I very spicy and truly addicting hummus! I cooked dry beans in my pressure cooker and used about 2-1/2 cups and added about 1 cup of the liquid. I refrigerated it and eat it with crackers or carrots. Thanks for this recipe, it so so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly except I replaced the 1 clove of raw garlic with 5 cloves of roasted garlic, which gave a sweeter, more garlic flavor. The texture of this hummus is excellent though! That is what I've found lacking in most hummus recipes. The proportions are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This is very close to what I have had in Middle Eastern restaurants. I add the 3 Tb of tahini, which gives it a nuttier flavor. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
better with no salt and cumin instead of pepper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Amazing!!!! Used minced garlic from a jar though(1 clove = 1 1/4 tsp). Absolutely no difference in taste. You can even get roasted minced garlic. I made a triple batch since all the girls wanted some. Turned out great! Cumin is a MUST! Served with warm flat bread slices and thin slices of cucumber. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I used about twice as much garlic and half as much lemon juice and salt. Very tasty. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 628) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States