Real Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
WAYYYY TOO MUCH SALT REQUIRED.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Good base to start. The only thing I would suggest is to totally leave out the salt, it just isn't necessary with the lemon juice. I follow the rest of the recipe, including the author's suggestion of adding cumin (which I almost double), and I add 1/2 a fresh jalepeno. Love it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Never thought to use the can-bean water. This was the most successfull Hummus I have ever made. I doubled the recipe and then divided that in thirds. Left one plain. Stired roasted pepper/egplant spread from Sprouts in another, and pureed ONE chipotle in adobo in the third. All were winners. The Key is to whirl in the processor for a really long time. OH...added a bit of extra garlic and also white pepper to the plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelteredrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Great recipe, I just tip the whole contents of the chick peas in the blender, it contains just the right amount of liquid, touch more lemon juice and a touch of white pepper, perfect for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robert

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Simsbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
It was missing something???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Very good, easy hummus! I made mine in the Baby Bullet and reduced the amount of lemon to 3 tbsp. to cut back on the lemon flavor just a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
The original posted updated to say two garlic cloves are better, so I used two large cloves from a head I just purchased... Way too garlicy! If your garlic isn't fresh or if cloves are smaller, use two. Otherwise, one is probably enough. Otherwise, the mixture is delicious. I will definitely be making many more times in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Warning: Definitely use canned chickpeas, and not dried/bulk ones. I tried this recipie with only 1tbsp olive oil, mixed in. It's really good. It has more of a tahini/savoury taste to it then the tangy-lemon store bought hummus. It's different than the store stuff, but really good and really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Thanks for a delicious and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 630) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States