Real Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Wow! I was skeptical, because I REALLY like my store-bought hummus and canned chickpeas don't smell so great. But we love it...even the kids were scarfing it down. Per other reviewers, I used half the salt, 1/2 tsp. of cumin instead of pepper, and no lemon juice (just because I was out of it.) I'll try the lemon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJOURNI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I really like this Hummus but have made some changes to fit my needs. 1. I love spicy things so I added about a 1 tsp of Sriracha chili sauce 2. I'm also am addicted to garlic so I used 3 cloves and 3 shakes of Lawrys garlic salt. 3. I seasoned it with paprika, ground turmeric root, and homemade basil olive oil. DELICIOUS :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RadTASHIC88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
this recipe is amazing! I used 2 tsp. minced garlic, no oil because i wasn't serving it right away, and added 2 tsp of some really hot salsa. the result? I very spicy and truly addicting hummus! I cooked dry beans in my pressure cooker and used about 2-1/2 cups and added about 1 cup of the liquid. I refrigerated it and eat it with crackers or carrots. Thanks for this recipe, it so so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candace plummer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly except I replaced the 1 clove of raw garlic with 5 cloves of roasted garlic, which gave a sweeter, more garlic flavor. The texture of this hummus is excellent though! That is what I've found lacking in most hummus recipes. The proportions are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This is very close to what I have had in Middle Eastern restaurants. I add the 3 Tb of tahini, which gives it a nuttier flavor. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
better with no salt and cumin instead of pepper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi Reeves

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Amazing!!!! Used minced garlic from a jar though(1 clove = 1 1/4 tsp). Absolutely no difference in taste. You can even get roasted minced garlic. I made a triple batch since all the girls wanted some. Turned out great! Cumin is a MUST! Served with warm flat bread slices and thin slices of cucumber. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I used about twice as much garlic and half as much lemon juice and salt. Very tasty. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
perfect recipe! fits perfectly in my magic bullet tall cup (a little tight but if you shake it a bit it works fine)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille Desrochers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 656) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States