Real Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
So I just made this recipe and it is delicious. I only had a 15.5 oz can of Garbanzo but I did bring the salt down to 1/2 tsp kosher and used 3 Tbsp lemon juice. I didn't have any cumin on hand and had to go with black pepper but everything else I had. I also added the olive oil to the blender and ground everything together. This is absolutely delicious. Will definitely make again. About to cut up some fresh garden veggies so that I can go make a hummus wrap. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
One more thing you can top it with a little bit of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Easy peasy and fabulous. Homemade chick peas/ Garbanzo beans, 5 or 6 cloves of fresh garlic, cumin & a bit of onion were the changes I made. I could eat the whole bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
It really was very salty, possibly because of using the reserved chick pea liquid. If I make it again, I will use water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Way too salty...I have to say that I had to tweak this recipe based on the saltiness. I will have to try this again with the suggestions of other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Good flavor and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
This is wonderful. So garlicky and so "just one more bite".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Great recipe! I only had 2 oz of Sesame seeds in the house and no time to hunt down tahini here on the Irish Rivera. I know from experience our grocery stores don't even know what it is. I made a mini batch of Tahini using http://www.cinnamonspiceandeverythingnice.com/how-to-make-tahini-paste/ which was very easy. So for this hummus recipe I only had about 1 Tablespoon of tahini. Because I used fresh tahini it had a very dominant Sesame flavor and didn't need more. I did double the garlic, and if I had time would have used some lemon zest for even more lemon flavor. To avoid gas I rinsed the beans and added very little water, it didn't need it. I didn't do cumin because some people just don't like it but I will add it next time when I make it for myself. I cut way back on the salt and it was fine for my taste. Our guest ate nearly all of it including picky kids. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I love this recipe! I did increase garlic to 2 cloves, reduced lemon to 3 tbsp, and added 1/2 tsp of cumin instead of pepper. I add the olive oil into the hummus instead of drizzling. I always drain and rinse the beans first and process until it is creamy and smooth. It turns out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
No more posting on hummus...didn't even know what hummus was until I got an email from "diabetics r us" about how healthy it is...vs. a McBurger...good alternative to mashed Pinto beans (a.k.a., burritos) or pasta/tomatoes (a.k.a spaghetti)....hard for vegans to get variety....check out the degree of Antioxidants in beans...cool....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 657) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States