Real Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2015
Delicious recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2015
I followed the suggestion to use 3 T tahini and should have tasted it first with 2 before adding the other tablespoon. It had to much tahini for my taste. I added a little garlic powder for more garlicky taste. Good idea when making hummus, start with smaller amounts of garlic, lemon, tahini, taste and add to your own liking. I stared making my own when we moved from Ohio 7 yrs ago because the Beirut in Toledo makes the best hummus ever and never found any to compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2015
I doubled the garlic, used half the amount of Lemon juice (4TBS was a bit strong) and I wanted a Mediterranean hummus so I added 1/4 each of dried parsley, oregano and lemon thyme. Also reserve the juice from the beans on the side if you need more liquid or you could end up with runny hummus. This was a great classic hummus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
Great Hummus. • Here are the exact proportions I wound up with after following the author's updates (and having to cope with low sodium 15oz chick peas). • 2 cloves (8 grams) garlic • 400ml or 1 and 2/3 cups drained chick peas (1 central market 15 oz can low sodium) • 1/4-1/2 cup of the reserved juice (depending on pref for thick or thin) • 2TBS + 1tsp lemon juice • 3 TBS tahini • 1 tsp table salt exactly. • 1/2 tsp ground cumin. Just enough to start tasting it over the garlic. • The full tsp of salt made up for the fact that the chickpeas happened to be low in sodium. • Saltiness was in perfect balance with tart from lemon. • • I took the amount of lemon down til it was in balance with the cumin • To me the cumin is essential to get the flavor that I know from various restaurants. • This will be my go-to recipe from now on. •
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
So convenient to make anytime, rather then having to buy the pre-made at the store. All the ingredients are usually staples that I have all the time. I add parsley and hot peppers. Today, I added sun-dried tomatoes too. Also, a great snack to make real quick to go along with crackers for an outing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
Wonderful recipe. If you first peel the skin off each bean you will have a much smoother texture. I also like to roast the garlic (doubled). YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Soooo excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Great recipe, easy and delicious. I made it nearly exactly as the updated version suggested, with more tahini and less salt, and with cumin, although I did add a dash of pepper too, because I love pepper. I think using good garbanzo beans makes a big difference--I like the kind that comes in cartons instead of cans. Thank you to the recipe author!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Authentic or real hummus is made with dry chick peas that you soak. Just soak overnight. Out of a can is not the best tasting. Otherwise the recipe is good. I'm middle eastern and there are many variations. You have to tinker with it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Great recipe! The can of garbanzo beans is actually 15 oz., so use part of a second can. I also added 4 T. of olive oil right into the food processer and about 1/3 of the liquid in the can of beans. Came out very creamy and tasty. I always sprinkle the top with paprika for presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 666) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States